cancelled a year of hosting though not getting any money back.

I'm a newbie to hosting problems like this.

I have a problem at the moment and that all started from my site being hosted on a host called host-vibe. I paid for a year of subscription of hosting and the server got hacked a month ago, so the webmaster moved us to another server owned by someone else. The server admin of the new server shut us down because we weren't paying for his services so we started paying for the new server admins service.

But what about the old (initial) host admin? I've now switched to his hosting since the old admin switched us to it but I've paid for a year of subscription which I only used for a few months. I've asked for the inital server administrator for my money back and he refuses to give a reimbursement, which means I'll be lossing something like 166 dollars of my money.

He is currently living in another country than I am.

Does anyone have some advice of what I should do?

Have you read their Terms of service? There should be some sort of refund policy.

You appear to have explained the situation reasonably well. If the new host cannot comprehend the situation and appropriately credit you then I would find a host you can trust. IMO it is all about trust and effective two-way communications when dealing with service providers.

Originally posted by coolyou007
    ...I paid for a year of subscription of hosting and the server got hacked a month ago, so the webmaster moved us to another server owned by someone else. The server admin of the new server shut us down because we weren't paying for his services so we started paying for the new server admins service....
    ... I've asked for the inital server administrator for my money back and he refuses to give a reimbursement
    There is so much that's wrong here, I wouldn't know where to begin.