hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Windows IIS FTP hanging
Reply

Forum Jump

Windows IIS FTP hanging

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 257

Windows IIS FTP hanging


Running Windows XP Pro with IIS 5.1. I have to connect via dos to this ftp server. Im using the dynamic dns url for it but i also tried the ip and still same issue.

Basically when I ftp to the server I can login just fine. But when I try to enter any commands in and hit enter it shows this:

150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list.

And it just hangs. I tried doing this from 2 different networks. If I go on the server itself and ftp to the external ip/dynamic dns name it works just fine. I can run any command, hit enter and it works and not hang like it does for any other system.

I tried turning off the Windows XP firewall, on SP2. Still nothing. I had to change the port for ftp server to 8080 since 21 was apparently being blocked by their ISP. Any suggestions?

Thanks
Silly

__________________
Minor League Football Scout



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 257
Hmm.. I discovered that if I switch to active mode in smartftp it has the same problem as the dos issue. If I put it to passive it works. So what is the command to turn off and on passive mode in dos ftp?

Thanks
Silly

__________________
Minor League Football Scout

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Should just be 'passive.' That's what it is on the *nix version, ought to be the same.

__________________
http://www.blue-giraffe.com

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 566
No, it's not. The FTP command line client coming with Windows does not support passive mode.

The cause for active mode FTP connections being blocked are atrocities such like personal firewalls being installed on the client's end.

  #5  
Old
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 62
Wow, what crap. I own a Macintosh and a Fedora system, avoiding the alternatve whenever possible ;-)

__________________
http://www.blue-giraffe.com

  #6  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 566
Well, Internet Explorer has a setting for enabling Passive mode connections though ;-) (not sure if it's enabled by default).

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 257
Actually passive mode can be achieved via dos,

quote pasv

I think its the isp that is blocking the ports. The fact that we can ftp just fine from within the Qwest network but not outside shows most likely it is blocking the port it transfers data through.

Smartftp works because I think it recongizes this and auto finds a high enough port to pass traffic through.

Silly

__________________
Minor League Football Scout

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 566
No, it cannot (at least not with the FTP command line client coming with Windows) since as I mentioned before it does not support passive mode FTP. This is not a matter of believe, it's a matter of fact.

The FTP client won't care if you tell the server to change into passive mode (why should it?) and there is no way of telling the client to do so. The command line client won't suddenly start initiating data connections to the server just because the server is waiting for one.

When you issue the next command (e. g. ls) it will initiate a new active mode data connection, i. e. make the server connect to the client on a different port, anyways, by issuing a PORT command, so you won't notice any difference by supplying a PASV command to the server or letting it be as it is. Your assumption concerning SmartFTP is admittedly entertaining but nonetheless unfounded.

Edit: An introduction explaining the differences between active and passive mode FTP can be found at http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html.


Last edited by aldee; 07-11-2005 at 12:34 PM.
  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally posted by aldee
No, it cannot (at least not with the FTP command line client coming with Windows) since as I mentioned before it does not support passive mode FTP. This is not a matter of believe, it's a matter of fact.

The FTP client won't care if you tell the server to change into passive mode (why should it?) and there is no way of telling the client to do so. When you issue the next command (e. g. ls) it will initiate a new active mode connection anyways by issuing a PORT command, so you won't notice any difference by supplying a PASV command to the server or letting it be as it is. Your assumption concerning SmartFTP is quite entertaining but nonetheless unfounded.

An introduction to the differences between active and passive mode can be found at http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html.
The smartftp suggestion was based on the functionality it showed compared to what DOS showed. My question is why would SmartFTP work just fine in passive mode and not fine in DOS. According to SmartFTP logs it would use ports 10xx and higher where dos would use 0,140. As I noticed it appears the ISP blocks the lower ports. That is why I made that assumption.

Would it be theory work if I issued a quote port command to tell it to open in higher ports? The bottom line is the ISP appears to be blocking the lower ports, FTP uses ports in this area and just seems everything is pointing to that issue now. Would make since that it works just fine from within its own Qwest network.

Silly

__________________
Minor League Football Scout

  #10  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally posted by Sillysoft
The smartftp suggestion was based on the functionality it showed compared to what DOS showed. My question is why would SmartFTP work just fine in passive mode and not fine in DOS. According to SmartFTP logs it would use ports 10xx and higher where dos would use 0,140. As I noticed it appears the ISP blocks the lower ports. That is why I made that assumption.

Silly
Hmm? This is not a matter of SmartFTP, it's a matter of passive or active mode. The command line client does not support passive mode, SmartFTP does. Passive mode connections are the only ones that will work for your setup. Find a different command line client supporting passive mode and it will work as well.


Quote:
Originally posted by Sillysoft
Would it be theory work if I issued a quote port command to tell it to open in higher ports? The bottom line is the ISP appears to be blocking the lower ports, FTP uses ports in this area and just seems everything is pointing to that issue now. Would make since that it works just fine from within its own Qwest network.
Have a look at the link I posted above. Active mode FTP works substantially different from passive mode, since the server will connect back to the client for active mode and the client will initiate another connection to the server in passive mode. Use a passive mode capable FTP client (Internet Explorer if nothing else is available) and you will be fine.


Last edited by aldee; 07-11-2005 at 12:41 PM.
  #11  
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 458
Windows XP with service pack 2 and Windows 2003 with service pack 1 have known issues with FTP. The only solution is to experiment with various combinations of:

- FTP client
- Active mode or passive mode

Usually you can find a combination that works.

__________________
Chris at TDMWeb.com
Windows & Linux hosting and fully managed dedicated servers with great customer service!
UK-based but serving the world...

  #12  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally posted by TDMWeb
Windows XP with service pack 2 and Windows 2003 with service pack 1 have known issues with FTP. The only solution is to experiment with various combinations of:

- FTP client
- Active mode or passive mode

Usually you can find a combination that works.
No, they don't have "known issues" unless you install / activate some kind of placebo security measure (basically any kind of braindead personal firewalls including the built-in Windows firewall).

  #13  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 257
I have to run ftp via dos. Its a batch script that runs and issues the ftp commands to pass files to the store

Silly

__________________
Minor League Football Scout

  #14  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 566
Then I'm afraid you're out of luck until you find another command line client and change the script to use that one instead.

I would suggest to start looking here: http://www.ncftpd.com

Apart from that it's IMHO rather unlikely that the problem with active mode connections is on the server's end, since passive mode is much more "intrusive" to the server than active mode. Did you test if the clients can connect to other servers in active mode?

  #15  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 257
As I mentioned before Im seeing that the issue is the ISP. I can ftp to the site just fine inside the Qwest network, anything outside of it does not work. The fact that port 21 is blocked to begin with makes the issue clear, need to get the ports open in order for this to work.

Silly

__________________
Minor League Football Scout

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Microsoft Surpasses Amazon as Largest Windows Hosting Company: Netcraft Web Hosting News 2014-02-27 17:05:44
JaguarPC Listing 2014-10-22 09:43:39
Microsoft Releases Major Updates of Windows Server, System Center, Intune Web Hosting News 2013-10-18 16:08:17
Expired SSL Certificate Brings Down Windows Azure Cloud Web Hosting News 2013-02-25 10:38:00
Windows Azure Processes 4.7 Billion Authentication Requests Weekly Web Hosting News 2012-11-27 17:21:03


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?