
07-07-2005, 10:50 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 67
|
|
Cannot get mail to a particular domain (driving me NUTS!)
Hello,
Can anyone possibly help with this problem???
Users on my machine cannot send e-mail to any user on the domain 'llrcpa.com'. We have been working with this problem for 3 weeks and can't find out the cause. This domain is an important destination for us, and we send email to this domain almost every day.
Here is what we've found.
- Every server I can find CAN send mail to this domain, except mine. The admin of the other server insists that they aren't blocking or anything.
- I'm not on any blackholes, etc.
- For a while, I would send a message and it would sit in the queue, with a ''couldn't connect' problem. For the last 2 days, the emails go right through, but then get returned with an 'undelierable mail' message (generic).
- I can ping the other mail server, but I can't telnet to it on port 25. On other servers, I CAN telnet to it on port 25.
Well, thats it! I can't figure it out and my ISP is not very helpful. Both isp's blame it on the other, which doesn't help me very much!
Any help appreciated, thanks!
__________________
RevMedia, Inc.
Quality Offshore Development Services
On Time. On Budget.
http://www.revmedia.com
|

07-07-2005, 11:20 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 1,354
|
|
Telnet has nothing to do with it, it's disabled on most servers because it's insecure. To make sure your not on any blacklists, do a check of the IP your sending mail from at http://www.dnsstuff.com/ Also check if your reverse DNS is properly setup. If you get a chance, paste the contents of the error e-mail you receive from the mailer daemon.
|

07-07-2005, 11:29 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 67
|
|
thanks for your response..
dnsstuff.com indicates that my domain is fine. Note that I AM able to telnet to this mail server via port 25 (as a diagnostic) without any trouble from other servers, but not from mine. So, it seems that my server simply can't reach this mail server to deliver mail.
the error message I get is generic - "A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:"
__________________
RevMedia, Inc.
Quality Offshore Development Services
On Time. On Budget.
http://www.revmedia.com
|

07-07-2005, 11:33 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 1,354
|
|
Check if your reverse DNS is setup probably, run it through http://www.dnsreport.com/
Also, can the users from the domain your sending to, send e-mails to you?
|

07-07-2005, 11:35 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 67
|
|
Yes , all of my mail settings are good, including rDNS.
And yes, I can receive mail from them no problem!
__________________
RevMedia, Inc.
Quality Offshore Development Services
On Time. On Budget.
http://www.revmedia.com
|

07-07-2005, 11:39 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 1,354
|
|
Well even a mailer-daemon response is good, at least it's getting to the server. But it seems to be rejecting your e-mails for some reason. Can you post the rest of the error, there should be some errors after some of the e-mail addresses.
|

07-07-2005, 11:41 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 67
|
|
That's it
It just lists the email addresses that were undeliverable and then repeats the original msg. Very strange.
__________________
RevMedia, Inc.
Quality Offshore Development Services
On Time. On Budget.
http://www.revmedia.com
|

07-07-2005, 11:58 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 1,354
|
|
Yea sorry, don't know what to tell ya, there's usually some kind of error message that gives a reason why the mail was rejected.
|

07-08-2005, 12:05 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 67
|
|
The only thing I can find in the exim logs that relates to the failed delivery is this:
R=lookuphost T=remote_smtp defer (-53): retry time not reached for any host
__________________
RevMedia, Inc.
Quality Offshore Development Services
On Time. On Budget.
http://www.revmedia.com
|

07-08-2005, 12:13 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 1,354
|
|
Ah, looks like you may be looking at the wrong error message. The message your looking at right now simply says the retry time was exceeded. Are you using cPanel by any chance?
|

07-08-2005, 12:19 AM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 67
|
|
yes, I am using cpanel...
That error came from what I think is the exim log in cpanel..
__________________
RevMedia, Inc.
Quality Offshore Development Services
On Time. On Budget.
http://www.revmedia.com
|

07-08-2005, 12:22 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 1,354
|
|
OK, I'm going to assume you have access to WHM too. Send an e-mail to the domain, and goto "Manage Mail Queue" in WHM and look for your e-mail. Click on the code that represents your e-mail, and then elect "Deilver Message Now". Then paste the results here.
You might as well check and see if your other e-mails are in the mail queue too. 
|

07-08-2005, 01:04 AM
|
|
Junior Guru
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 203
|
|
Are you using virtual ip's? Make sure your routing is correct. If you are using virtual ip's
/usr/sbin/telnet -b virtualip mail.llrcpa.com 25
or do a traceroute to see if you can get to the mail server. Seems like a routing issue.
Do you have a mail account on the problem domain? If you do, then manually send an e-mail message via telnet using helo. If it doesn't go through then, then you know its at least the receiving server.
|

07-08-2005, 01:39 AM
|
|
Temporarily Suspended
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Groton, Connecticut
Posts: 925
|
|
I've actually experienced this kind of problem, make sure the domain llcrpa.com isn't on the server, or anywhere in the records. Remove it from the records and it should work. ( That's how I got mines fixed )
|

07-08-2005, 02:55 AM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: India
Posts: 123
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by PTH
I've actually experienced this kind of problem, make sure the domain llcrpa.com isn't on the server, or anywhere in the records. Remove it from the records and it should work. ( That's how I got mines fixed )
|
Hello,
I don't think so, if the domain entry resides in that server he will get the local delivery complete message.
try this command and paste the result
===============================
exim -bt -d test@llcpa.com
===============================
Let me know the status
With regards,
Bijo
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|