Need help.. looking for a webhost

I came up with a good idea today.. but unfortunitaly I don't know alot about webhosts and which one to sign up with since I haven't made a website before..but.. my idea is to sell instructional videos that the customer could buy and after he made the purchase could download the video..I want to put about at least 20 videos up and each video being about 15-20 megs..Also looking to make custom T shirts and selling them on the site..Which webhost would be the best..should I go after one that offers paypal? shopping cart? ecommernce? And how much data transfer do I need for all the videos I'll put on my site? Any input from you guys would be helpful..I'm a newbie but a fast learner.

I'd say you’d need a shopping cart. Fantastico has oscommerce or something along those lines. Then you should probably get an ssl certificate, which means you'll need a dedicated ip address. For the actual certificate you can a starterssl cert for cheap from ev1servers .

There is no best webhost. My advice would be to look for a host that has what you need and presents themselves in a professional manner. Be warned though, when you've decided on a few candidates for hosting it's definitely worth it to run them by us at webhostingtalk so we can give you various experiences and feedback to better help you in making a final decision.

As for data transfer I think you will do fine with a few GB per month until your site grows. Most hosts allow easy upgrading of your plan so you can start from the bottom and work your way up as the needs of your website increase.
    Last edited by cywkevin; 07-05-2005 at 11:31 PM.
    Patron: I'd like my free lunch please.
    Cafe Manager: Free lunch? Did you read the fine print stating it was an April Fool's joke.
    Patron: I read the same way I listen, I ignore the parts I don't agree with. I'm suing you for false advertising.
    Cafe Owner: Is our lawyer still working pro bono?

Hello daily_guitar,