hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Disk usage 0.00 MB !!
Reply

Forum Jump

Disk usage 0.00 MB !!

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:37 PM
MrAdmin MrAdmin is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 127

Disk usage 0.00 MB !!


Hi

in all my accounts in server

Disk usage 0.00 Megabytes


i contacted support and they told me that they can't fix
this problem in Cpanel


Can any one help me ?


Regards

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:45 PM
JTY JTY is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 5,991
Do you have disk quotas enabled?

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2005, 09:45 PM
concept concept is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 380
Try logging into SSH cd into the /scripts directory, then do ./fixquotas

If that doesnt help you may need to recompile your kernal with quota support on.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 07-05-2005, 12:57 AM
bwb bwb is offline
Nerf Herder
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Internet
Posts: 1,529
Quote:
Originally posted by concept
Try logging into SSH cd into the /scripts directory, then do ./fixquotas

If that doesnt help you may need to recompile your kernal with quota support on.
Bingo, your host should know about this bug as sometimes Cpanel drops this info and resets it if there is a problem.

__________________
CEO at Site5.com, 50,000+ clients and working to improve every day.
Read 3,500+ Reviews of Site5 From Verified Customers On Shopper Approved

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2005, 03:41 PM
Tapan Tapan is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: India, USA
Posts: 363
Hi,

How do i come to know if quotas are compiled into the kernal or not ?

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2005, 08:44 PM
rotoiti rotoiti is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: silicon and earthquakes
Posts: 253
dmesg | grep quota

If you have quota support you'll see something like the following
VFS: Disk quotas dquot_6.5.1

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:17 AM
SolidJoe SolidJoe is offline
I LOVE Cogent!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,002
I've had this problem as well. Just with one account, no idea why. And yes, quotas are obviously on and I tried to rebuild them but it still shows up as 0mb in WHM...but its just a minor annoyance so I never followed up on it. I figured it was a bug in Cpanel and would be fixed later.

__________________
I wish all my traffic went through AS174.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:23 AM
Tapan Tapan is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: India, USA
Posts: 363
Hi,

This is a bug indeed and is very serious issue. You should not ignore this. You will get in trouble.

Thansk.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:31 AM
Defcon|Rich Defcon|Rich is offline
Carpe Diem
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,038
I don't know about getting in trouble but you should at least check your quotas as instructed above..

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:35 AM
SolidJoe SolidJoe is offline
I LOVE Cogent!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,002
Quote:
Originally posted by Tapan
Hi,

This is a bug indeed and is very serious issue. You should not ignore this. You will get in trouble.

Thansk.
Uhm....how would it get one in trouble?

__________________
I wish all my traffic went through AS174.

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:54 AM
Tapan Tapan is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: India, USA
Posts: 363
Hi,

Supopse your clients go over the limit and then you either delet their files or something or ask them to increase space or anything this will be considered a deficiency in service from your part becuase you are the one who has to manage quotas and not client. So in the end if client refuses to pay for extra space or if you delete their files etc. then you're in trouble. :-p

This happens at our place so atleast i am very much concerned about this issue. Hope you understand.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:15 AM
SolidJoe SolidJoe is offline
I LOVE Cogent!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,002
Quotas work fine in Linux, it's just WHM/CP that doesn't understand them. I don't manage the server from WHM though, so it's not important.

__________________
I wish all my traffic went through AS174.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:22 AM
Tapan Tapan is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: India, USA
Posts: 363
Hi,

So how do we do it the way you do it ;-)

Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:09 PM
nanyo nanyo is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 32

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - May 30, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-05-30 15:36:21
CloudLinux Releases New Inode Limits Feature for cPanel Web Hosting News 2013-08-28 16:38:27
The Host Group Launches Online Monitoring Services Web Hosting News 2013-07-29 14:25:59
Jelastic Introduces Pricing Model with Autoscaling, Volume Discounts Web Hosting News 2013-03-20 15:50:25
Open Data Center Alliance Adds Frameworks for Software Entitlement, Data Security Web Hosting News 2013-03-14 15:33:01


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?