Arrow Newbie want your advice

I have no experience with webhosting. I am thinking about buliding a site. It would need at least 30 GB bandwidth per month , 1-3 Gb space at the begining and a decent control panel and have a message broad , membership system and shopping cart. I have done a little research and overwhelmed by so much information and don't know what to trust.

My questions are:

1. I am looking for a webhosting company and decide to choose one before starting to bulid my site because some companies provide site builders and templates. I want a big and reliable company. I also take their dedicated hosting services into my considerations since I might upgrade my site in the future.

Here are the plans I am considering. All are 1 year contract.

host rocket

a New York company founded in 1999

$7.95/mo 1 Gb space bandwidth 50 Gb /mo 1 domain per account pre-installed scripts c-panel
    Their services are a bit more expensive than others'. I can't get why all their dedicated hosting are sold out as they don't even provide control panel to dedicated hosting users and the price is not low.

founded in 1997

$9.95/mo 2400 Mb space bandwidth 120 Gb /mo 3 domains 15 sub-domains no custom DNS (What is it?) no pre-installed scripts c-panel

a Texas company started providing webhosting services in 2001

$6.95/mo 1000 Mb space bandwidth 40 Gb /mo 6 domains unlimited sub-domains provide site builder pre-installed scripts c-panel the only one provides e-commence tool (Is that important?)
    Their dedicated hosting are priced relatively high. (almost double) Why?

Which of them suit my need the most? Any other recommendations?

2. I just have very little knowledge about Frontpage. I don't even know what sub-domains, database, DNS, php ,asp, perl , CGI and SQL are and how to write scripts.

What should I know before buliding a site? Any recommendable site providing technical information to newbies? Any good site similar to hotscripts .com ?