Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: .GE domains

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    By the sea
    Posts
    1,289

    .GE domains

    Could anyone tell me a bit more on registering .GE domains ?? .GE is the extention of the former USSR republic Georgia.

    Does anyone know of any specific restrictions, and where to purchase one at a reasonable price ?

    Want to register only one, so no particular need for bulk registration tariffs, just would like one single .GE for a reasonable price.
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The OC
    Posts
    2,094
    All I know is from the IANA website: http://www.iana.org/root-whois/ge.htm
    You may delay, but time will not. --- Benjamin Franklin
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,974
    The Registry web site (English version) is at

    http://www.nic.net.ge/index_en.html
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Harrogate, UK
    Posts
    32
    It looks like you've got to print out and fill in a form, then mail or fax it to them - too much hassle in my opinion. And, by the looks of it, you have to live in Georgia, too...

    If you live in Georgia, that's fine but I'd recommend just getting a .com or something.
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,822
    Gerrit,

    I know how to register .ge domain names. You can find all the information on:

    http://www.nic.net.ge/index_en.html

    How to register domain name under .ge:

    http://www.nic.net.ge/faq_en.pdf

    It costs 30 GEL (Georgian National Currency) a year, which is equal to $14 USD

    If you want some detailed information, let me know.
    Imagination is more important than knowledge.
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    By the sea
    Posts
    1,289
    Yeah, would seriously interest me. Can you PM the detailed info you have ?
      0 Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    By the sea
    Posts
    1,289
    Haven't received any PM yet...

    Anyway, it looks like a Georgian address is required, though it also seems that the registry can provide you one... Does anyone know more about this ?
      0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    10,573
    nice ccTLD for General Electric
    Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
    Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

    Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi
      0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,822
    Gerrit,

    Policy:

    1.5

    The use of any type of the domain names in the GE zone is permitted only on the territory of Georgia, namely:

    a) the use of services rendered by the Internet Provider incorporated or acting on the territory of Georgia, or

    b) through the channel homed on the territory of Georgia and possessed by the registrant.

    1.8 Natural persons, which cannot be registrants are the persons, who:

    a) do not reside (are not registered) on the territory of Georgia, or

    b) are not citizens of Georgia

    As it seems you can not register the domain name.

    Also the process requires paperwork. There is no public whois server available and even DNS changes are made with the help of paperwork. No Online interface to manage your domain name.

    Actually if you really want to register the domain name, I can help you with that when I go back. But if you intend to resell it later on, i have to say that's not a good idea. I doubt the policy will be changed in the next 10-16 months.

    If you need any details just let me know.

    Bashar,

    Yep. Actually I think it is a nice extension for Germany
    Imagination is more important than knowledge.
      0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    10,573
    yeah or Germany, dunno why they had .de aren't they Dutch? they should get .DU heh
    Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
    Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

    Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi
      0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,974
    Originally posted by Bashar
    yeah or Germany, dunno why they had .de aren't they Dutch? they should get .DU heh
    The German name for Germany is DEUTSCHLAND. - hence .de

    "Dutch" means "of the Netherlands" (.nl)

    The languages of Germany and the Netherlands are quite closely related, and apparently some English speakers a few centuries ago had problems telling them apart and mistook people from the Netherlands for Germans and referred to them as "Deutsch" (German)... which somehow turned into "Dutch" and which somehow stuck as a name for people from the Netherlands. They should really be called Netherlanders and their language should be referred to as Netherlands (they call themselves Nederlanders and their language Nederlands)
      0 Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    10,573
    oh i see, thanks for the enlightenment Lubeca
    Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
    Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

    Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi
      0 Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,822
    Lubeca,

    The Georgian name for Georgia is - Sakartvelo, but that does not mean we have the extension .sa and why it is interesting, why it is like that for Germany. I should find that out

    Maybe I should start working on marketing of .ge domains for German market
    Imagination is more important than knowledge.
      0 Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The OC
    Posts
    2,094
    Originally posted by Bashar
    nice ccTLD for General Electric
    Wow... LightBulb.GE appears to be available
    You may delay, but time will not. --- Benjamin Franklin
      0 Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,974
    Originally posted by maxo
    The Georgian name for Georgia is - Sakartvelo, but that does not mean we have the extension .sa and why it is interesting, why it is like that for Germany. I should find that out
    Domain name extensions are based on ISO codes - which have been around for a VERY long time.

    I suspect (though I don't know for sure) that ISO codes for countries like Georgia and Armenia were created after the break-up of the Soviet Union... so the former Soviet states had to settle for whatever was left. Armenia got lucky (no one else had .am), but Georgia couldn't have .sa because it had been allocated to Saudi Arabia many years previously.
      0 Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,822
    Lubeca,

    It explains everything now Thanks
    Imagination is more important than knowledge.
      0 Not allowed!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    10,573
    Soviet Union had .su but been phased out AFAIR

    u know the only 2 countries have 2 ccTLDs are russia for .su and .ru and UK for .uk and .gb

    could be nice to have "Get your email @ 1.GB address!" heh
    http://www.host.your.site.at.20.gb hehe
    Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
    Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

    Twitter: Bashar Al-Abdulhadi
      0 Not allowed!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,822
    I did not know about .gb One can register .su for $100/year.

    I doubt it is possible to register .gb though. I would like to have that 1.gb address as well
    Imagination is more important than knowledge.
      0 Not allowed!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    78
    I've never heard of .gb domains. I doubt they actually exist, but if they do, some info on which registry has control over them and where you can get them would be good.
    Mark Stevens
    GHXhosting.com Ltd - Shared & Reseller Hosting
    (UK/US) Dedicated Servers & VPS
    Server-Help.co.uk Experienced Linux server admin for hire
      0 Not allowed!

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The OC
    Posts
    2,094
    Again, from the IANA website: http://www.iana.org/root-whois/gb.htm

    They appear to be just reserved. Curiously, they have Domain Servers, but no Whois server, and no Registry website.

    Looks like a great opportunity if someone could persuade them to market the country code.
    You may delay, but time will not. --- Benjamin Franklin
      0 Not allowed!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    By the sea
    Posts
    1,289
    Only one .gb domain is currently active and linked to a site...

    As for .GE: I would register for personal use and not for reselling. Plus, paperworks are an advantage rather than disadvantage, wish they'd do it again for .com as well ; much less chance for theft !
      0 Not allowed!

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,822
    Gerrit,

    Why do you think there is less chance for theft if someone is using paperwork? To change ownership for .de domain names most providers require paperwork, but I should say I have seen lots of times people faking those documents. So I doubt it is really an advantage.
    Imagination is more important than knowledge.
      0 Not allowed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •