* Terrible Hosting Policies (and Customer Service) at 1&1

So I signed up for a few days ago, using 1& to both register the domain and get hosting. Using FTP I created a simple sight with photos, etc. Nothing too big--which is why I am not fuming that my contract was cancelled, my access denied and my site replaced with a giant error message in German.

Because I am in Tokyo right now on business, they claim I could potentially be some evil hacker cheating Joh Schmoh (an American) out of 30 bucks and the site, In a rather accusatory email, they state:

Unfortunately one must be a resident of the US/Canada to become a client of
    1&1 Internet Inc. This includes only residents of the 50 US states and not
    residents of offshore territories and protectorates.

Your order details show that you purchased this account in JAPAN. As a
    result, we will ask that you provide proof of US or Canadian residency.

Though I am a citizen and resident of the US, I figured it would be worth the hassle of faxing some documents to them and I jumped through their hoops and faxed my DL. When they shut down my site anyway, I called and they refuse to unlock the domain or allow me to transfer MY domain to another host. What do they want with my domain?

On top of all this, I received an invoice today saying my CC would be charged.

They should be exposed for hijacking my website...

Any other 1& stories?
    Last edited by millersan; 06-30-2005 at 03:44 AM.

I am sorry to hear that they have did this to you. If they charge you, I would suggest a chargeback against them. Their actions are unreasonable. It seems like they do not want international revenues.
    Synergy Blue LLC |
    USA should so something about:

Very sorry to see this happen to you, Try and contact your bank to claim the money back if its possible..

Good luck.

Sorry to hear that. I agree probably chargeback would be the best solution
    Imagination is more important than knowledge.