anybody actually restored with ThePlanet DiskSync?

Hello,

We are using DiskSync service for backup on a few servers at ThePlanet. DiskSync seems great - it is very easy to setup and reliably does a daily incremental backup without consuming much of the system resources.

However, I have had some bad experiences with other types of backups before (e.g. unable to restore after faithfully doing daily backups).

My question is: has anybody actually done a restore using DiskSync? If so, how did it go?

We would feel better if we heard from anybody who has actually used this successfully and would appreciate any warnings. I really don't want to have a false sense of security.

(FYI: we also do a weekly backup of critical data at another location, but DiskSync is the only full backup and the only daily backup for the servers we have at TP).

Thanks in advance!

Al

Yes, we have done a restore with DiskSync and it worked well. We dropped the DiskSync service as we didn't think it was worth the money.

Sirius
    I support the Human Rights Campaign!
    Moving to the Tampa, Florida area? Check out life in the suburbs in Trinity, Florida.

If something "works well" it's hard to say it's not worth the money

So what do you use now? The beauty of DiskSync is that it backs up the system state aswell. I believe Eddy did a full Windows restore - OS and everything!

At $2.00/gb for DiskSync, it was too expensive when you are looking at 100+gb of data. I am using GNAX and am very happy with their service and their prices. ($0.50/gb)

Sirius
    I support the Human Rights Campaign!
    Moving to the Tampa, Florida area? Check out life in the suburbs in Trinity, Florida.

www.bqbackup.com can go as low as $0.25/Gig.

Thanks,
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!