hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Problems with Webmin for server admin?
Reply

Forum Jump

Problems with Webmin for server admin?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2000, 01:36 PM
PoolDoc PoolDoc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 6
Webmin (www.webmin.com) seems to be an awfully easy way to administer a server, including Apache and Sendmail, but I'm not sure what risks I'm taking by using it.

Does anyone know more?

PoolDoc

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-28-2000, 01:54 PM
eva2000 eva2000 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,185
i have been using webmin for the last 6 months with no problems at rackspace.com and it's very easy to use

due to hardware upgrade costs i have moved to a server at ultraspeedusa.com and a raq3 at 4webspace.com (that tells you how expensive things can get at rackspace )

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2000, 02:22 PM
cbaker17 cbaker17 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Wichita, Ks, USA
Posts: 1,984
webmin

Webmin is a very good program and as far as security is very good.

__________________
affordablecolo.com carrier grade colocation at a affordable price!
Charles Baker - Company Operations
1-866-316-HOST

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 01-01-2001, 11:29 AM
Domenico Domenico is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lowlands
Posts: 717
Can webmin be used with a RAQ3 ?

THANKS!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2001, 11:30 AM
cbaker17 cbaker17 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Wichita, Ks, USA
Posts: 1,984
short answer NO

Technically its prob possible but I would strongly advise against it, why would you want to anyway, you by a cobalt for its preloaded control panel

__________________
affordablecolo.com carrier grade colocation at a affordable price!
Charles Baker - Company Operations
1-866-316-HOST

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2001, 06:41 PM
Rory Rory is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 24
You can use it, with some minor modifications/hacks(I'm told).

However, as Cobalt RaQ's do come pre-loaded with their own control panel software, it would be advised to use this rather then webmin(Not to mention, the cobalt software looks nifty, so why not? )


Regards,

Rory

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Ingram Micro Launches New Cloud Hosting Solutions Based on Parallels Software Web Hosting News 2014-06-09 11:39:04
Admin Error Brings Down Joyent’s Ashburn Data Center Web Hosting News 2014-05-28 10:18:18
Anturis Offers Perceptive Server Monitoring with cPanel/WHM Plugin Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 12:40:23
JumpCloud Brings Cloud Server Management to DevOps Web Hosting News 2013-09-11 15:01:18
Web Host Milesweb Launches Dedicated Server Hosting in India Web Hosting News 2012-12-31 10:53:51


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?