miva vs OScommerce

which is the better shopping cart program? as far as customization, community support in case i need help programming it, and has support for most of the third party credit card processing gateways.

is it like comparing a lexus vs bmw where they're neck and neck in features or is one clearly better than the other?

thanks for reading.

Well I would not choose Miva because you need to have that software installed on the server.

osCommerce can be on a Windows or UNIX server with no problems. As long as you know coding, osCommerce can be customized pretty easily.- although I am not a programmer, I just rely on them to do it

oscommerce all the way. Its free man.

6. That is right.

For customize, oscommerce is the best, it is very flexible.

Oaky, sorry for the caps, but Miva is a crappy program. We give Miva accounts on one of the packages at the hosting company I work for and it is nothing but a pain... People always have trouble with it.

Not only that, but their backend navigation is the most horrific thing I have ever seen.

why not Miva?

they are the largest shopping cart for a reason. additionally, they charge a premium compared to the free carts such as OSC and the like. you would think having to pay for it would impact its market share, but that would not appear to be the case.

don't get me wrong. i'm new to this whole thing, but i have been using Miva for a year or so. it isn't the best, but none are. it appears that 5.0 is a giant step in the right direction. no more need for OpenUI, easier customization, and much more. additionally, there are literally hundreds, if not thousands, of modules to help improve Miva.