Thread: email server

email server

If I get a dedicated server from ThePlanet, LayeredTech, or DedicatedPlace to support multiple domains how will I handle the email accounts.

Will I need an email server?
    How reliable are email servers?
    Can you give me any resources on the web where this is outlined?

I am not a hosting expert so I will be using fully managed servers.

Sydney Australia
    If you get a server from a budget dedicated server provider, then it is likely all you'll get is a machine with an O/S of your choice installed. It will be up to you to choose and configure the various services you wish to offer. If, as you say, you intend to get a fully managed server, then unless you plan to hire a third party, your listed choices might be wrong for you. If you do intend to hire a third party, and lease a machine from an unmanaged provider like LayeredTech, then make sure this future admin knows what they're doing. In this case, they'll not just be providing daily support and maintenance, but also possibly choosing which daemons to install (eg. Sendmail or Postfix, etc) to provide the necessary services.

Email can be one of the less enjoyable services to administrate but, depending on the number of end users, it might not be that bad. They should be confident about their understanding of the configuration, since an incorrectly configured mail daemon can lead to abuse, which can have a domino effect on all your services (getting black listed, blocked, etc) if not caught quickly.

Most hosts will offer a control panel (Plesk, Cpanel). It is quite easy to administer email using these control panels - all point and click. If you have problems, your host will walk you through it.

In answer to your questions:

You asked:
    >Will I need an email server?