Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Mod Gzip?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    160

    Mod Gzip?

    1. How do you find out if a website is using Mod Gzip?

    2. Is it better to have mod gzip on your server or not?

    3. Does mod gzip slow down the loading of web pages?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    1. There is no real way to find out if a website is using mod_gzip, if you wanted to know if the server supported it then you can create a file on the server with this:

    Code:
    <? phpinfo(); ?>
    and it should tell you if Gzip is there or not.

    2. I believe it's better to have GZip on the server.

    3. Gzip *could* slow down a webpage, but it all depends on the page in question.
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    516
    I've found using mod_gzip helps with some navigation on sites.

    Example would be with rollover images. Rather than reloading each time the mouse cursors rolls over.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Reporting Live from Marrz
    Posts
    254
    You can't find if site is using mod_gzip, but you can find if it's content is served GZIPped (so it may be mod_gzip, mod_deflate etc.):

    http://www.desilva.biz/gzip-test.php

    It's is good to serve content lightly GZIPPed, serves faster. But, mod_gzip's drawback is that it has compression level 6 hardcoded.

    Mod_deflate is better for this cos you can set the compression level to 1 or 2. Size differences are minimal, load on CPU is way lighter.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    160
    Follow up as I like to this with and without Mod GZip.

    Is it possible to uninstall Mod Gzip without recompiling apache or do I need to recomplie apache to uninstall mod gzip?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Reporting Live from Marrz
    Posts
    254
    If mod_gzip was compiled into Apache as a dynamic loadable module, you can uninstall it simply by moving out mod_gzip related lines our of httpd.conf and deleting mod_gzip generated files when it was compiled.

    If it was compiled into Apache statically, to completely remove it you will have to recompile Apache.

    However, you can turn it off in any case at any time, per vhost or whatever.

    http://www.schroepl.net/projekte/mod_gzip/install.htm
    http://www.webperformance.org/compression/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352
    you can use port80software's tool to check if your server have gzip enabled or not http://www.seoconsultants.com/tools/compression.asp

    just use the seoconsultants.com's link

    i've two windows2003 server IIS6, IIS6 have gzip.dll built in, just need to enable it. one of my server at theplanet doesn't have IIS http compression enable (gzip) the bw useage are higher than the one at Savvis which have gzip enabled.

    you can use it to serve any content both static or dynamic generated (php, perl, asp, aspx...etc)

    it can save you some bw, which is a good thing. it won't cause you any problem expect browser that is IE 4.0 or lower and Netscape 4.0 or lower. which no one use anymore as older browser doesn't support http comperssion. http compression have been out since 1999. you should take advantage of it to improve your server. it save bw and faster deliver for your client (browser)

    in IIS, it's easy to configure, just click click and edit IIS XML file. i don't know how apache work but you shouldn't have problem googling it. after http comperssion have been out since 1999.

    edit: when you test your website with the link i gave. port80software will tell you the result on what type of web server you use on your server for example mine is IIS 6.0 and the original file size and compressed size (if you have gzip enable) then how much bw you can save if you have it enabled.

    i also have a 1and1 share host account, 1and1 doesn't have gzip enable.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greater Chicagoland
    Posts
    181
    To see what modules are compiled in you can also run the command:

    /path/to/apache/bin/httpd -l

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •