Woonsocket, RI, USA

Question: SpamAssassin? VPS?

I have just been told that the volume of spam I receive makes it inevitable that the SpamAssassin running on my domain will go down again. It has been suggested that I should go the VPS route.

I know nothing about VPS, except that it is much more expensive than the normal hosting that I have been using for the last nine years. Since my site is a non-commercial hobby site with comparatively low traffic, I believe that I would be paying an additional $200 per year just because of spam.

Heck, I don't get more than 15 REAL emails on my busiest day. But I get 2,000+ spams.

Just to clarify, I have never done anything to invite spamming. I never respond to them, or even OPEN them unless they've successfully tricked me - and even then, I only use mail clients that don't load HTML, so it's not like the spammers are getting any hits or information back from me at all. I never request to be taken off their lists or anything like that - I know it only encourages them.

The problem is that I've been online since, jeeze, the late 1980s. And I was pretty active on Usenet, and my email address was in my sig - spam didn't exist back then! So my address must be on every spammer's list in the world.

My address is my name, so I would rather not give it up.

I'd very much appreciate any suggestions or feedback.

Please note that I am NOT making any complaint in this post. Well, except about spammers.

Northern Europe.
    Hmm.... not sure if this helps, but I have all my email forwarded to an account at
    From there, I download the non-spam to my computer.
    SpamCop sorts out about 95% of the spam.
    Web Hosting Reviews based on real customer feedback
    77 Ways To More Traffic

Saint Paul, MN
    Wow... 2K spam a day? That's better than one a minute.