Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    How do you remove this porn link?

    I'm sorry - I don't mean to be so blunt, but someone in my household goes to unGodly sites when I go to church at night and when I come home all of my history is always deleted.

    One day, I noticed as I was entering www (to go to a site I needed to go to), I accidently hit the "e" button and a drop down porn link came into view. Well, this person in my household has obviously gone there, now even after deleting history and temporary internet folder, it still comes up if I hit the "e" button, does anyone know how to erase that link? and prevent it?

    Thank you.

    Spiderfine

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    Assuming you are on a Windows System.

    Hit Start > Search > Find Files or Folders

    Type: hosts for the keyword.
    Change the search location to C:\Windows (may have to click the drop down and choose 'Browse')

    When the file 'hosts' is found... Double-Click it to open it... Since this file has no extension, windows will bring up a message saying search for a program online, or to choose the program you want to open it. Choose to select the program from a list.

    Locate Notepad in the list and hit the ok button.

    Once notepad is open.. go to the end of the file and create a new line. On this line type the following:

    127.0.0.1 offendingdomain.com

    Hit File, then choose Save. Exit out of the file.

    Now when you go to offendingdomain.com it will try to connect to the IP 127.0.0.1 and unless you run a web server on your PC, then it should just come up Can Not Find Server.
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    Oh...

    And to erase the link from your dropdown list (Address Bar).

    Assuming you use Internet Explorer... On the top menu bar, hit Tools, Select Internet Options. Locate the TAB that says Content, and click on it. Select the AutoComplete button. And then hit Clear Forms.
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  4. #4
    Thank you very much. I did what you told me to do on your first reply and I have a couple of questions:

    1. After I went to search for the files or folders I typed:"hosts for the keyword". exactly like that. or was I suppose to type:"hosts"? I think I did it right, cuz then it showed me 158 files and then "Hosts" was the first file. So then I went from there and when I typed: 127.0.0.1 offendingdomain.com, I saved it. But there was already that same number typed and it said localhost next to it.

    And then I was wondering about when you said when I go to offendingdomain.com it should say it cannot find sever. What exactly do you mean by that? I or this person wouldn't ever go to offendingdomain.com. do you mean "it" knows that these sites are offending so it stops all of them. or what?

    also, i did that auto complete clear form thing and when I enter www.e - that drop down link still shows up. do i need to shut down? i did open up a new browser.

    thank you so much for your help

    spiderfine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    Sorry I should of been more informative.

    First... There will be an entry with '127.0.0.1 localhost' Just leave that alone, it's supposed to be there..

    Second. You need to replace offendingdomain.com with the domain that you want to ban from being seen on your computer.

    I am not sure about the auto-complete thing.. You may need to close all browsers and then reopen them. Better yet... To remove that domain from your address bar, Click Tools, Internet Options, and then click the button that says Clear History. That should remove it.

    Hope this helps,
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  6. #6

    Spyware or Adware ?

    You seem to have a spyware or adware in your PC


    Try these free software that removes spyware and adware

    http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
    http://www.download.com/Spybot-Searc...-10122137.html

    Joshua

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    334
    What about the posters posts make you think malware is involved?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    321
    I just wanna know what "unGodly" site he/she was visiting! ;-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    The orginal poster did not give me the impression that malware/spyware was involved. It seems that while the poster is at church, someone else in the household used the computer to visit a site that the poster did not want accessed.

    My little tutorial that I gave, will allow the poster to stop the person from being able to access the domain on the computer in question.

    Best of Luck
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,683
    You may also want to try netnanny or surfsafe or one of the other internet filter programs ...

  11. #11
    Hello Vince,

    Do I need to add another line and enter the same number as what's already there? if so, I did that and entered that domain, and then I entered another line with that same number and entered another domain name as a test and it does not prevent me from going there. have i done something incorrectly? or maybe...should i restart?

    JDMundo: Hi, I only know this one that I accidently found out about and it's eroticafanDOTcom Somehow it has stuck itself to my address bar. Also, I'm really not sure about ALL the sites this person goes to, all I know is that when I come home from church my history is gone. I have just put 2 and 2 together and figured there's more porn sites this person is going to, but you know what I can't stop that because I don't know the address. Oh well, I would like to get rid of eroticafan from dropping down though.

    And I guess I could try that nanny one.

    Thank you for all your help.

    Vince, I await your reply.

    Spiderfine.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    Hi,

    You can add as many entries as you like.

    Here are some examples:
    127.0.0.1 yahoo.com
    127.0.0.1 google.com
    127.0.0.1 msn.com

    After you save the file, and possible after shutting your browsers down and reopening them... You should no longer be able to access the domains pointed to 127.0.0.1.

    If that does not work, then perhaps you should try to restart your computer. Then again try to access the domain. If the domain still pulls up, it may be cached in your browser... If that's so, then hold the CTRL key and hit the Refresh button in your browser and it should try to pull a new page instead of using the cached version.

    The purpose of the file named 'hosts' is so you can override what IP is assigned to a certain domain name. Since 127.0.0.1 is the local IP for your computer, by pointing a domain to it.. The domain should try to pull from your local computer (where it doesn't exist) which will effectively block any person in your household trying to reach the said domain.

    Hopefully everything works for you. Best of luck.
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  13. #13
    well thank you again for replying.

    there is something i am doing wrong and can't seem to figure it out. i'm not sure what it is because i've read your instructions carefully to be sure that i'm doing it right, but to no avail. i even shut down my computer.

    not sure what else i could be doing wrong.

    ??

    spiderfine

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sunny So. Calif.
    Posts
    204
    Try putting:

    127.0.0.1 http://www.eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 www.eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 eroticafan.com

    You need to cover all the bases, depending on exactly what is typed into the address bar. Not everyone types the http:// or the www.

    Sometimes you need to specify more than just the base domain, I would also (as was posted by someone previously) suggest you check into a child safe surfing program. No doubt you have a teenage boy in the house.... we've been through it with all 5 of our boys at varying times....
    Last edited by jamesyeeoc; 06-23-2005 at 09:15 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    What is the exact location of the hosts file that you found? Maybe you are not using the correct file, or maybe that file is not in the right location.

    If you put in that file:
    127.0.0.1 yahoo.com

    And then try going to yahoo.com, you should get a page not found error. If that is not the case...I will do my best to help you after you provide the additional information.
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  16. #16
    Hello, thank you for trying to help me out, i really appreciate this.

    ok this is what i'm doing:


    start
    find
    files or folders
    it says:
    Named: I enter nothing here
    Containing Text: hosts
    Look in: I enter: C:\Windows
    find now

    I found "Hosts" and double clicked on it and told notepad to open it. then i typed what you told me to and also did a test, so this is what is on that file:


    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 www.eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 http://www.eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 cutenclassy.com
    127.0.0.1 http://www.cutenclassy.com
    127.0.0.1 www.cutenclassy.com

    then i save it. close the browser and cutenclassy.com still opens up. I haven't tried the other one, cause i want to make sure it works first.

    thank you

    spiderfine

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,683
    No, you want to search for a file [BOLD]named[/BOLD] hosts, not "containing" hosts. This is why it isn't working.

    If you're using Windows XP, the file will be in C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc. (I think Windows 2000 has the same location).

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    In WindowsXP you can "SEARCH" for files containing a word.. I do believe he found the right file, as he said before that the first file that came up was 'hosts'.

    Do make sure that the file you found is in the directory that brianoz stated though. If it is not in that directory..It will not work.

    Also, you need to take the following lines out of the hosts file, as they may be causing problems because they are not in the correct format:
    127.0.0.1 http://www.cutenclassy.com
    127.0.0.1 http://www.eroticafan.com

    If the location of the file 'hosts' is correct, and if you remove the above lines this should work for you.

    Again, since the pages may be cached in your browser....After saving the hosts file with the changes, try to go to one of the links, and then hold CTRL and hit Refresh after the page has loaded.

    If this still does not work I really don't know what to tell you... This should work.

    Good Luck
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sunny So. Calif.
    Posts
    204
    If you have Windows 98/ME, the HOSTS file will be in
    C:\WINDOWS.

    If you have Windows XP or 2000, the HOSTS file will be in either:
    C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC
    or
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC

    If you find it anywhere else, then that is why it is not working for you.

    Verify you have these lines (the ones with http://... don't hurt or cause any problems with windows if they are there)

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 www.eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 http://www.eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 cutenclassy.com
    127.0.0.1 http://www.cutenclassy.com
    127.0.0.1 www.cutenclassy.com

    Make sure these are at the TOP OF THE FILE, hopefully there is nothing else in the file. Let us know if there are any other lines which begin with numbers.

    After editing the file, make sure you purge the Internet Explorer file cache: (do it again!)

    Click Tools
    Click Internet Options
    Click Delete files button
    Put checkmark in 'Delete all offline content'
    Click Ok
    Click on tab 'Content'
    Click on 'Auto Complete' button
    Remove checkmark from 'Web Addresses'
    Click Ok
    Click Ok (again)
    Close the IE browser.

    Now, that should clear the Temporary cache, as well as the address bar entries. If you don't want to see what the other family member has been browsing, then leave the Web Addresses unchecked. If you (as a parent/spouse) do want to see any further evidence, then you will have to go back in and put the checkmark back on.

    Click Start
    Click Run
    Type: command <== if you are running Windows 98/ME
    or
    Type: cmd <== if you are running Windows XP or 2000

    Click Ok.

    You will have a DOS window open.

    Type: ipconfig /flushdns (notice the '/')
    Press Enter.

    Type: exit
    Press Enter.

    Shutdown/Restart Windows

    Once rebooted, open Internet Explorer and verify the address bar does not auto-complete the web address as it did before.

    You also should not be able to browse to the sites you put into the HOSTS file at this point.

    The only other 2 things I can think of which may circumvent these procedures would be either a PROXY setup in IE, or an infectious item of some sort (hijacker/redirector/etc).

  20. #20
    i am using windows 98. i copied and pasted my hosts file, here it is:

    # Copyright (c) 1998 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP stack for Windows98
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    127.0.0.1 eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 www.eroticafan.com
    127.0.0.1 cutenclassy.com
    127.0.0.1 www.cutenclassy.com

    Jamesyeeoc, I did everything you told me to do, the start/run/command/ too. shut down and still not working.

    oh well, i hate to keep bugging you all, but thank you anyway...

    good thing is, when i enter www.e - that site does not drop down.

    thank you again everyone.

    spiderfine
    ps: not teenagers, i'm trying to protect my soon to be teenage son. - spouse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •