UK Trading/Business

Hi there, I have a small project (Web radio) that will require a 10MBPS Server and im a UK resident.

I want it to be self sufficient so I want to sell hosting in order to fund the server.

Unfortunately Im rather confused as to the legalities of what I want to do:

Does a business have to be formed and then registered in order to sell webhosting over the internet?

Can a individual such as me sell webhosting without declaring to the tax providing I am not over my personal allowance or is there any form of allowance for businesses before they have to start paying taxes?

Basically I just need to sell hosting to fund my project - Im more than capable of both but just wanted to clarify the legal position of such a move before attempting anything.

2. Hi

You do not need to form a business but would need to declare the tax, if you do not form a company you would just do this as part of your personal tax return.

I would recommend contacting an accountant for any more detailed clarification.
    Designer Hosting Ltd
    UK Hosting for Web Designers

United Kingdom
    Hello There
    I would reccomend you taking a look through and the inland revenue site.

Yeah Business Link is for starting up a business which is the opposite of my aim

Well you would be a sole trader which means you would do a self assesment form in the UK, you should register with the inland revenue to tell them you are a sole trader and do your books. If you don't go over your personal tax allowance you wont pay tax but you should register just to be legit.

If you decide against letting them know then make sure you keep books / accounts so that if they ever find out you can prove to them that you have not gone over your tax allowance - obviously i recommend letting the inland revenue know you are a sole trader

I have no problems with letting the inland revenue know its just the fact that I dont want to register a business.

Sussex, England