Results 1 to 35 of 35
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    949

    Sagonet connectivity issues for some 6-20-05

    Hello,

    Currently I'm getting reports of reported outages to Sagonet. Though I'm external I can connect in fine, others have experienced some intermittent outages, which our network personnel are looking into at the moment, but it seems to be sporadic and not effecting all clients. I have no other information at this time, except there have been reported issues, and people are looking into it, just trying to acknowledge that some connectivity issues are going on, and they're being looked into.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    97
    I can't reach my server nor the sagonet.com site

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Eugene, OR
    Posts
    18

    Me neither...

    I can't reach any sagonet servers.

    I'm in the Pacific Northwest.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,899
    Code:
    traceroute to 207.150.167.24 (207.150.167.24), 64 hops max, 44 byte packets
     1  69.61.52.129 (69.61.52.129)  0.462 ms  0.392 ms  0.423 ms
     2  ge-3-2-atl1-gw1.globalcompass.com (66.154.95.193)  0.695 ms  0.492 ms  0.450 ms
     3  66.154.95.194 (66.154.95.194)  0.782 ms  0.521 ms  0.562 ms
     4  ge2-1.br01.atl01.pccwbtn.net (63.216.31.133)  1.063 ms  0.869 ms  0.584 ms
     5  ge3-0.cr01.atl01.pccwbtn.net (63.216.31.37)  1.000 ms  0.696 ms  0.593 ms
     6  bpr1-so-7-1-0.AtlantaPaix.savvis.net (208.173.59.29)  1.107 ms !N  0.924 ms !N  1.050 ms !N
    Above trace is from my georgia server. So it is confirmed is a routing issue. On the east coast (PA specifically) I am able to be connected to ssh remotely fine on the sago system.

    Hopefully this is worked out to a complete resolution shortly.

    Got to say overall network conditions did level off again once those two new gige lines were added in a bit ago.

    -Justin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,845
    Confirmed

    Telus is having serious issues with tehm, but shaw seems fine in alberta.

    -runs off with a axe to collect someone's head-

    Ah well, thanks for the info, Matt

    EDIT -
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 65.110.62.150: bytes=32 time=220ms TTL=49
    Reply from 65.110.62.150: bytes=32 time=224ms TTL=49
    Reply from 65.110.62.150: bytes=32 time=159ms TTL=49
    Reply from 65.110.62.150: bytes=32 time=276ms TTL=49
    Reply from 65.110.62.150: bytes=32 time=429ms TTL=49
    Reply from 65.110.62.150: bytes=32 time=168ms TTL=49
    Reply from 65.110.62.150: bytes=32 time=253ms TTL=49

    SHE LIVES!


    ~Francisco
    Last edited by DeltaAnime; 06-20-2005 at 05:00 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,899
    -runs off with a axe to collect someone's head-


    Mind if I buy that spare axe you have over there DeltaAnime?

    Edit:
    SHE LIVES!
    Back here also, question is for how long? It has been seeming like an uphill battle for them with this one as periodically it comes back few minutes later drops off again. Seems like a bgp issue somewhat.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,845
    Nah, the spare one is being used by my bud to collect the head of our Peer1 host

    There was issues with our L3 host in NJ, but it cleared up. they've been fine since. It's just high pings, no packet loss.

    ~Francisco

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    97
    4 8 ms 7 ms 8 ms 68.2.13.202
    5 9 ms 18 ms 9 ms 68.2.13.114
    6 7 ms 8 ms 8 ms 68.2.13.9
    7 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms 68.2.13.5
    8 9 ms 13 ms 10 ms 68.2.13.1
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 97 ms 96 ms 94 ms responsivewebhosting.com [63.246.155.14]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    97
    we seem to be back up now

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,899
    --- 207.150.167.24 ping statistics ---
    32 packets transmitted, 32 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 32.472/32.954/33.589/0.258 ms
    No loss at this moment. Just got off the phone with the noc and they are working on it but have no ETA or further information yet.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    98
    Originally posted by DeltaAnime
    Confirmed

    Telus is having serious issues with tehm, but shaw seems fine in alberta.

    ~Francisco
    Yup us albertans have awesome internet
    There goes my lag-free sago - For a few minutes I had all the bandwidth to myself! Gar.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    949
    I'd post more, if I had more, unfortunately I know from experience, it doesn't help network admins to figure things out quicker when being asked "is it done yet, is it done yet" Once I have more info, I'll certainly post it, just wanted to acknowledge that yes, there were / are problems, we're aware of them and tracking it down. It's much easier if a complete line goes down IMHO to fix things vs. some sporadic issues that may or may not be at the DC, but whatever it takes, it will get resolved as quickly as possible.

    Thanks,

  13. #13
    Is it done yet?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    276
    Well i can access my Sago server fine from the UK

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    SAGONet boxes are working just fine from here.

    Thanks,

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    No complaints from any of my visitors here.

  17. #17
    Is it me or is the issues returning now?

    From my own test, it seems like Sago just stop broadcasting their routes as the traceroutes always fails in the originating ISP of the traceroute and not in one of the upstream. Hence some people can't get to them.

    Some ISP probably have cached routes so isn't affected.

    I kind of hate how there's always no proper updates on the cause no matter who I ask.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    I don't know if this is related to this connectivity issue.. my speed to sago only peaked at 2mbit/s on my 5mbit cable connection. Speeds to other sites reach my 5mbit limit. The sago server is on a 100mbit line...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.x.x
    2 * 9 ms 5 ms 10.35.x.x
    3 5 ms 5 ms 6 ms pos2-0-nycmnyd-ubr3.nyc.rr.com [24.29.100.141]
    4 17 ms 5 ms 5 ms pos0-1-nycmnyd-rtr1.nyc.rr.com [24.29.100.137]
    5 7 ms 5 ms 6 ms pos5-3-nycmnya-rtr2.nyc.rr.com [24.29.97.38]
    6 6 ms 7 ms 5 ms pos2-0-nycmnya-rtr1.nyc.rr.com [24.29.101.254]
    7 7 ms 8 ms 8 ms so-2-0.hsa2.Weehawken1.Level3.net [63.208.104.41
    ]
    8 8 ms 8 ms 7 ms so-6-2-0.mp2.Weehawken1.Level3.net [209.247.8.81
    ]
    9 44 ms 126 ms 44 ms as-2-0.mp1.Tampa1.Level3.net [209.247.11.201]
    10 45 ms 44 ms 50 ms ge-1-1-53.car4.Tampa1.Level3.net [4.68.104.71]
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 ^C
    Problem at 3:14AM EST. seems like the sago routers were down.

  20. #20
    Can't get to my AllManaged Account eithier.


    Pinging 66.111.32.24 with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 66.111.32.24:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    Anyone else having problems today?

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    98
    No problems for me - And my servers online or else i'd have hundreds of users whining at me

  22. #22
    There was a problem. But not today.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    Anyone else having problems accessing their box? Pings and trace routes are fine but I can't access my websites, ftp, ssh, etc... :-?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    98
    Originally posted by ANewDay
    Anyone else having problems accessing their box? Pings and trace routes are fine but I can't access my websites, ftp, ssh, etc... :-?
    I haven't experienced any problems like you have described.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    Originally posted by ANewDay
    Anyone else having problems accessing their box? Pings and trace routes are fine but I can't access my websites, ftp, ssh, etc... :-?
    Well, it seems that somehow the apf firewall blocked my IP. It has nothing to do with the network....

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    My pings are in the 60ms range for the past few days. It has always been in the 40ms. I hope it goes back to normal soon.

  27. #27
    sagonet's network is even fast from my side of the world ... and they have super deals ... wonder if they need a reseller ... j/k

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    13
    I haven't had any problems personally, but my clients have. This all started on the 20th, and still continues up to this day. Nothing has been done on behalf of Sagonet, even after dozens of tickets and phone calls. Seems we're just playing a game of tag or something here.
    All 9 of my servers were completely useless to me for a total of 48 hours due to major latency problems as well as certain clients who were unable to connect to my services. after that 48 hour period, a few of the servers seemed to calm down, but now there are still 5 that have been offline for 11 days now because of this. I have been getting VERY frustrated with their support because it seems they are not taking any of my suggestions into consideration. I have just now sent them the link to this thread to prove to them that something IS infact wrong, since all I've been hearing so far is "We have no reports of any problems". Really ticks me off how they are misinformed as to what's going on with their own network. Or if it's not their network, they should atleast know something is up with Level3.
    The IP Engineering team looked into things and said they would contact level 3 staff and get back to me, however, that was 5 days ago, and still no reply. They got another ticket from me which they claim to have resolved, saying it was a problem with IRC, when IRC had absolutely nothing to do with it.
    If these problems continue to go unresolved, I will surely be packing up and moving elsewhere.

  29. #29
    I doubt you have 5 servers offline for 11 days. We have servers in multiple sub-nets and we haven't seen the issue you seen.

    Well you may have been attacked if you have IRC. So it may just have everything to do with it.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    13
    IRC is not in use and hasn't been. All of these problems started the same day the routing problem came up, and it is still a routing problem as I've already proved in my trace routes. You're just like everybody else, including their staff. Trying to say it has nothing to do with what it really is. -_-

  31. #31
    Why don't you show a traceroute then?

    I say the same thing because we have a lot of servers there (a few times of what you do), and we have not a single issue on any of them.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Yes I realize this, but as you can obviously see by this topic, there ARE people who have problems. I don't feel I need to prove anything to you, but here it is.

    1 13 ms 23 ms 17 ms 70.69.252.1
    2 16 ms 14 ms 14 ms rd1bb-ge4-0-2.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.66]
    3 17 ms 14 ms 17 ms rc1bb-pos15-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.69.70]
    4 22 ms 23 ms 26 ms rc1wt-pos2-3.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.77.26]
    5 35 ms 20 ms 21 ms 4.79.110.1
    6 248 ms 189 ms 337 ms so-7-0-0.mp2.Seattle1.Level3.net [64.159.1.165]

    7 78 ms 598 ms 260 ms as-2-0.mp2.Tampa1.Level3.net [64.159.3.218]
    8 402 ms 74 ms 75 ms ge-1-1-51.car3.Tampa1.Level3.net [4.68.104.6]
    9 75 ms 74 ms 75 ms 4.79.144.2
    10 75 ms 75 ms 674 ms gi0-1.ds01.tpa.sagonet.net [65.110.32.8]
    11 560 ms 77 ms 75 ms unknown.sagonet.net [207.150.169.170]

    =======

    1 6 ms 5 ms 6 ms 70.69.252.1
    2 7 ms 8 ms 195 ms rd1bb-ge4-0-2.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.66]
    3 7 ms 7 ms 11 ms rc1bb-pos15-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.69.70]
    4 12 ms 12 ms 50 ms rc1wt-pos2-3.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.77.26]
    5 12 ms 12 ms 34 ms 4.79.110.1
    6 208 ms 15 ms 12 ms so-7-0-0.mp2.Seattle1.Level3.net [64.159.1.165]

    7 458 ms 74 ms 501 ms as-2-0.mp2.Tampa1.Level3.net [64.159.3.218]
    8 488 ms 75 ms 74 ms ge-1-1-51.car3.Tampa1.Level3.net [4.68.104.6]
    9 75 ms 74 ms 75 ms 4.79.144.2
    10 75 ms 75 ms 75 ms gi0-1.ds01.tpa.sagonet.net [65.110.32.8]
    11 75 ms 551 ms 75 ms unknown.sagonet.net [207.150.169.170]

    ======

    1 27 ms 52 ms 53 ms 70.69.252.1
    2 16 ms 14 ms 18 ms rd1bb-ge4-0-2.vc.shawcable.net [64.59.159.66]
    3 84 ms 26 ms 17 ms rc1bb-pos15-0.vc.shawcable.net [66.163.69.70]
    4 19 ms 23 ms 21 ms rc1wt-pos2-3.wa.shawcable.net [66.163.77.26]
    5 22 ms 35 ms 20 ms 4.79.110.1
    6 28 ms 20 ms 20 ms so-7-0-0.mp2.Seattle1.Level3.net [64.159.1.165]

    7 90 ms 84 ms 88 ms as-2-0.mp2.Tampa1.Level3.net [64.159.3.218]
    8 157 ms 220 ms 233 ms ge-1-1-53.car3.Tampa1.Level3.net [4.68.104.70]
    9 100 ms 95 ms 83 ms 4.79.144.2
    10 326 ms 227 ms 96 ms gi0-1.ds01.tpa.sagonet.net [65.110.32.8]
    11 84 ms 83 ms 83 ms unknown.sagonet.net [207.150.169.170]

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,175
    I didn't experience any of those issues you mentioned. None of my visitors complained either, they are from all over the world. Maybe it's your connection to Sago that's causing the problem.

  34. #34
    Well, there was an issue. That's last week. That's the original reason for this thread.

    You don't have to prove anything to me. But you need to backup your claims.

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Well I also have users from around the world, and about 500+ trace routes from all of my users which I have sent to Sagonet. I am simply mentioning that I am having problems, as I can see others are or were too. So I don't understand why I would need to back up my claim in a forum such as this, since not much help can be provided either way. Just my point of view.

    On a lighter note, I finally got through to them and they have one specific technician assigned to my issue. So hopefully that means things will start progressing a little faster from here on out.

    I still think the changes they made on that same day of the routing issue could be the cause of this, but of course, they won't take that into consideration.
    Last edited by Project; 06-30-2005 at 06:13 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •