hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Do not host with *******.com!
Reply

Forum Jump

Do not host with *******.com!

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2005, 12:11 AM
HopesDespair HopesDespair is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 48

Do not host with *******.com!


Okay, so a while ago I posted about how good *******.com was... well after thinking it over... I don't think they really are... and after recent events have transpired.

First of all the ad for the server reads this:

Intel P4 2.4 Ghz
1 GB Ram
160 GB IDE
1800 GB B/W

Now, although stupid on my part, I did not ask the guy if there was any restrictions on the bandwidth. I assumed 1800GB was 1800GB. Come to find out, it's only 900 Up and 900 Down. Still not too bad for 150$ a month.

Okay not a big deal really... atleast their technical support is good (I had a problem like the first day and they fixed it quickly).

Well I call them back and ask if it's possible to expand the amount of users on Windows 2003 server at a time. The guy says, "If it is you'll be able to do that yourself from your admin account. You'll have to check the windows website though to find out about that."

Okay... whatever that's cool. So I call back the next day to inquire about having my Operating System changed to Fedora (since I just bought a book on it), no one answered so I left a messege.

Four days later.... after 3 messeges, no phone call.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-20-2005, 10:13 AM
atchoooo atchoooo is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montréal
Posts: 953
Why don't you call them yourself to verify if they received your emails? They have phone numbers listed on their web site.

Regards,

__________________
:: Martin Leclair
:: Cofounder of iWeb, Recently sold to Internap.
:: Linkedin Profile

  #3  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:35 AM
amc-james amc-james is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,276
Windows licensing (presumably what you're in need of to increase your amount of users on the Windows server) is very pricy. Follow up with them via the telephone to set them straight. They'll probably whack you with a fee to install another OS though.

__________________
James Cornman - jcornman@atlanticmetro.net
Atlantic Metro Communications - AS29838
Data Centers • Managed Hosting • Internet Access • VMware vCloud Partner

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 06-20-2005, 11:44 AM
concept concept is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 380
He said he called several times and left messages on their machine. I dont even see where he mentions email, but it could just be me.

  #5  
Old 06-20-2005, 12:04 PM
atchoooo atchoooo is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montréal
Posts: 953
Oh .. sorry missed that part.

__________________
:: Martin Leclair
:: Cofounder of iWeb, Recently sold to Internap.
:: Linkedin Profile

  #6  
Old 06-20-2005, 01:14 PM
HopesDespair HopesDespair is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 48
A little bit of an update:

When I sent in a cancellation request I got an e-mail from them. They basicly told me my messeges got lost, which I said is understandable. They also asked if I was unhappy with them (because I filled out a request for a new host), and I explained to them other than the incident their service was great, but I was also mislead to the bandwidth, and he said he'd set my account to where I can have 15000GB up and 900 down or something along those lines (had just woke up when he called)

Either way, when push came to shove they took care of things and made it better... but we'll see how it continues

  #7  
Old 06-20-2005, 02:35 PM
JHServers JHServers is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 2,168
Did ******* offer full management for your server? If not, then it's not up to them to help you setup more people connecting to the server (which btw are known as CAL's) And as crnc said, it IS VERY expensive to add more CALs to the server. Something like $100 for 5 more, or along those lines. Did you try e-mailing them, contacting them on AIM/IRC, or even *gasp* submitting a support ticket Sometimes leaving a message (which are usually for sales staff) doesn't get it to the right person. And you need to use the system they already have set up for things like that. Best of luck, ******* did a fine job for me when I was a customer of theirs. Thank you.

__________________
Dedicated Servers - frank@hivelocity.net - 1-888-869-HOST(4678)
Viva Hivelocity "THE SERVER STUD" - Award Winning Hosting
Managed Dedicated Servers. Reseller Discounts. 24/7 Impressive Tech Support.


  #8  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:32 PM
dkitchen dkitchen is offline
Managed Hosting Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
If this is a hosted web box, CAL's will be available under SPLA so it's not much of a hit in the pocket. It also depends what the CAL's are for (domain clients, exchange users, sharepoint users etc).

Dan

__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).


  #9  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:15 PM
RackMy.com RackMy.com is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 2,508
Quote:
If this is a hosted web box, CAL's will be available under SPLA so it's not much of a hit in the pocket. It also depends what the CAL's are for (domain clients, exchange users, sharepoint users etc).
Actually it can get to be very expensive. You need to jump from unauthenicated to authenticated and that is a big jump in price.

__________________
Mike @ Xiolink.com
http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
"Your data... always within reach"

  #10  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:21 PM
goddenm goddenm is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 17
Re: Do not host with *******.com!

Please tell me the thread starter is not actively conducting business, the logic here is childish at best.

  #11  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:52 PM
wheimeng wheimeng is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 4,970
******* is OK, contact Jimmy, and I'm sure he will look into it

__________________
Whei Wong
OnApp - www.onapp.com
Cloud and CDN software for the hosters!

  #12  
Old 06-20-2005, 07:17 PM
HopesDespair HopesDespair is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 48
godenn, the logic that I pay for support, and have to call 4 times, send in a ticket, and e-mail them twice, until I finally get a return e-mail after sending in a cancellation request is childish?.....


Sorry but I see that as a good reason to be quite upset... and to forewarn others about the service. And when I finally did get a hold of them and got things settled, I posted that it was settled.

As far as I am aware that's mature.

  #13  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:24 PM
drew145 drew145 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
I have a question about the bandwidth. When you get a dedicated server and they say 1600GB bandwidth is it assumed that it is 1600 up and down or 800 up and 800 down. It seems like most people say theirs is 800/800. Is this standard procedure now? Does 1600 really mean 800/800?

  #14  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:47 PM
TieuDieuTu TieuDieuTu is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: US of A
Posts: 430
The best advice is contact who ever your web host is and ask them directly. There's no standard as far as I know.

__________________
::Nirvana::

Download Desktop Wallpapers

  #15  
Old 06-21-2005, 02:11 PM
dkitchen dkitchen is offline
Managed Hosting Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
Quote:
Originally posted by drew145
I have a question about the bandwidth. When you get a dedicated server and they say 1600GB bandwidth is it assumed that it is 1600 up and down or 800 up and 800 down. It seems like most people say theirs is 800/800. Is this standard procedure now? Does 1600 really mean 800/800?
I know this is in a way related to the thread but please in future open your own thread to ask this kind of thing.

To answer your question: No this is not always the case with all providers ...

__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).


Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Host Alive Listing 2014-04-17 02:32:27
Host Europe Acquires Telefonica Germany Online Services Web Hosting News 2013-09-13 15:27:43
Host Virtual Expands Cloud Platform with New Location in Seattle Web Hosting News 2013-02-21 10:01:56
Web Hosting Provider Host Virtual Expands Indian Cloud Web Hosting News 2012-12-31 12:13:26
UK Cloud Host Cyber Host Pro Acquires ColdFusion Host Yetihost Web Hosting News 2012-08-15 11:18:39


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?