Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    48

    Do not host with *******.com!

    Okay, so a while ago I posted about how good *******.com was... well after thinking it over... I don't think they really are... and after recent events have transpired.

    First of all the ad for the server reads this:

    Intel P4 2.4 Ghz
    1 GB Ram
    160 GB IDE
    1800 GB B/W

    Now, although stupid on my part, I did not ask the guy if there was any restrictions on the bandwidth. I assumed 1800GB was 1800GB. Come to find out, it's only 900 Up and 900 Down. Still not too bad for 150$ a month.

    Okay not a big deal really... atleast their technical support is good (I had a problem like the first day and they fixed it quickly).

    Well I call them back and ask if it's possible to expand the amount of users on Windows 2003 server at a time. The guy says, "If it is you'll be able to do that yourself from your admin account. You'll have to check the windows website though to find out about that."

    Okay... whatever that's cool. So I call back the next day to inquire about having my Operating System changed to Fedora (since I just bought a book on it), no one answered so I left a messege.

    Four days later.... after 3 messeges, no phone call.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    953
    Why don't you call them yourself to verify if they received your emails? They have phone numbers listed on their web site.

    Regards,
    :: Martin Leclair
    :: Linkedin Profile

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,277
    Windows licensing (presumably what you're in need of to increase your amount of users on the Windows server) is very pricy. Follow up with them via the telephone to set them straight. They'll probably whack you with a fee to install another OS though.

  4. #4
    He said he called several times and left messages on their machine. I dont even see where he mentions email, but it could just be me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    953
    Oh .. sorry missed that part.
    :: Martin Leclair
    :: Linkedin Profile

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    48
    A little bit of an update:

    When I sent in a cancellation request I got an e-mail from them. They basicly told me my messeges got lost, which I said is understandable. They also asked if I was unhappy with them (because I filled out a request for a new host), and I explained to them other than the incident their service was great, but I was also mislead to the bandwidth, and he said he'd set my account to where I can have 15000GB up and 900 down or something along those lines (had just woke up when he called)

    Either way, when push came to shove they took care of things and made it better... but we'll see how it continues

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168
    Did ******* offer full management for your server? If not, then it's not up to them to help you setup more people connecting to the server (which btw are known as CAL's) And as crnc said, it IS VERY expensive to add more CALs to the server. Something like $100 for 5 more, or along those lines. Did you try e-mailing them, contacting them on AIM/IRC, or even *gasp* submitting a support ticket Sometimes leaving a message (which are usually for sales staff) doesn't get it to the right person. And you need to use the system they already have set up for things like that. Best of luck, ******* did a fine job for me when I was a customer of theirs. Thank you.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,163
    If this is a hosted web box, CAL's will be available under SPLA so it's not much of a hit in the pocket. It also depends what the CAL's are for (domain clients, exchange users, sharepoint users etc).

    Dan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    2,508
    If this is a hosted web box, CAL's will be available under SPLA so it's not much of a hit in the pocket. It also depends what the CAL's are for (domain clients, exchange users, sharepoint users etc).
    Actually it can get to be very expensive. You need to jump from unauthenicated to authenticated and that is a big jump in price.
    Mike @ Xiolink.com
    http://www.xiolink.com 1-877-4-XIOLINK
    Advanced Managed Microsoft Hosting
    "Your data... always within reach"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17

    Re: Do not host with *******.com!

    Please tell me the thread starter is not actively conducting business, the logic here is childish at best.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,974
    ******* is OK, contact Jimmy, and I'm sure he will look into it

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    48
    godenn, the logic that I pay for support, and have to call 4 times, send in a ticket, and e-mail them twice, until I finally get a return e-mail after sending in a cancellation request is childish?.....


    Sorry but I see that as a good reason to be quite upset... and to forewarn others about the service. And when I finally did get a hold of them and got things settled, I posted that it was settled.

    As far as I am aware that's mature.

  13. #13
    I have a question about the bandwidth. When you get a dedicated server and they say 1600GB bandwidth is it assumed that it is 1600 up and down or 800 up and 800 down. It seems like most people say theirs is 800/800. Is this standard procedure now? Does 1600 really mean 800/800?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    430
    The best advice is contact who ever your web host is and ask them directly. There's no standard as far as I know.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,163
    Originally posted by drew145
    I have a question about the bandwidth. When you get a dedicated server and they say 1600GB bandwidth is it assumed that it is 1600 up and down or 800 up and 800 down. It seems like most people say theirs is 800/800. Is this standard procedure now? Does 1600 really mean 800/800?
    I know this is in a way related to the thread but please in future open your own thread to ask this kind of thing.

    To answer your question: No this is not always the case with all providers ...

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    30
    Usually 1600 bandwidth would mean upload+download. Thats the way most providers seem to do it. If a particular provider doesn't they should post that info in their ad.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •