We all complain when something goes wrong – I think it is only fair to report when a problem has been put right. I have received such brilliant service from Easyspace, way beyond what I had hoped for:

Towards the end of last year, I ran into some problems with Easyspace when I was unable to receive support for some issues regarding the re-design of my website. My support tickets / requests were just being ignored - extremely annoying.

I am not a web developer. I am a photographer - I am (just about) competent to design my own site, manage it and deal with routine problems, but I am not well prepared to deal with issues out of the ordinary. The last thing I wanted to do was to spend hours researching hosting providers and dealing with new accounts and domain name transfers. I was also not prepared to incur extra costs.

I did some research into Easyspace, found out that they had been acquired by Iomega (from what I knew then, either worrying or good) and contacted Iomega. I received a reply very quickly from Paul Jeffrey, who is Iomart's customer services manager. I did not really believe that anything significant was going to come from my complaint (attack would be more precise) - and I was wrong.

Iomart immediately set up a new account for me so that I could implement the new version of my website on a "clean" space, at no extra cost. They also offered to have the two sites running in parallel for as long as I wanted, which took the time pressure away. Designing my own website means that I need to do most of this work in my spare time and I knew the new version would take a while to complete.

Some questions (permissions, scripts) did appear during this period and Paul was there to hold my hand and answer questions with never-ending patience. I was dealing with an actual person who would reply to my e-mails normally the same day.