Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Tor-NY-BJ
    Posts
    330

    What is this CPU?

    CPU: AMD Sempron(tm) 2400+ (1666.49-MHz 686-class CPU)

    Why it sayd 2400+, but it is only 1666.49MHz? Is it in powersaving mode?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,640
    AMD's naming convention is a little odd, they usually "name" their CPU's a higher number than they're actually rated for. Why, I'm not sure.
    Simpli Networks, LLC :: http://www.simplinetworks.com :: Proudly 100% Owned.
    Providing Affordable Managed Cloud/VPS Servers & Server Management Solutions.
    We offer REAL 24x7x365 in-house support - proudly serving our customers since 2005!
    Want to learn more? Give us a call - +1 (844) 4SIMPLI or email sales[@]simplinetworks.com today!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,163
    With AMD, clock speed doesn't matter anymore, and hasn't for a while ... their "2400" rating basically means it performs like a 2.4ghz chip, where actually it runs slower than that, runs cooler, and uses less power

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    520
    Yeah, for example the Sempron 3100+ (based off of a64 core) runs at only 1.8ghz but these things are insanely fast and the price/performance ratio is amazing.

    Don't be afraid of the semprons

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    The processor you mentioned is equivalent to an INTEL Pentium 4 2.4GHz processor. Albeit, it actually runs cooler, uses less power, and may be faster in some cases.

    Thanks,
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Miami FL
    Posts
    288
    What wm2100 isnt here yet??? Is he dead?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    520
    I'll be the AMD cheerleader in his place, other than old legacy pIII hardware we're an all AMD shop...

    GO AMD! yay!

  8. #8
    The sempron 2400 will not run as fast as a 2.4 p4 it will tho with a Celeron D 2.4. You have to remember a sempron only has 256 mb of cache compared to a 512 mb or 1 gig cache on the P4.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    520
    correction, the sempron has only 256kb of cache in comparison to 512, 1mb, or 2mb cache on the p4s (depending on what series) however, cache isn't everything. In some cases (as shown in other threads) a sempron 3100+ can outperform a 2.8ghz 1m cache xeon.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    770
    Don't forget to mention you're all talking about L2 cache, whereas L1 cache is a lot more important. Another thing the latest AMD series has is an on-die memory controller which makes any kind of cache much less important than in previous designs where it was in the chipset (usually north bridge/MCH).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •