Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    517

    Okay to use VPS once my Dedicated fills up?

    Is it okay to put clients on a seperate VPS from a different host once my server fills up, or should I stick with the same host?

    Thanks,
    Trav

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    It should be fine to do that as long as you realise a VPS won't store as many as a dedicated

    Rus
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    517
    Originally posted by vaserv
    It should be fine to do that as long as you realise a VPS won't store as many as a dedicated

    Rus
    Yeah, but the price is better than paying another $150/month for 1500gb of bandwidth on my server.

    For $50 I can get:
    # 30000MB Disk Space
    # 750GB Bandwidth
    # Unlimited Domains

    The only concern I have is using different nameservers if I decide to get a VPN from a host different from my origional dedicated host.

    Any comments on using VPN from a different host than the dedicated?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    You can setup something like ns3 and ns4.yourdomains.com and point those over. Actually if you go for c-Panel you can use DNS clustering so you don't need to change the DNS at all

    Rgds

    Rus
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    490
    Don't go with a VPS just for cost reasons. If you already filled one server, you should be making more than enough profits to set up a second. If you're not, then you seriously need to rethink your business plan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    517
    Originally posted by mkc
    Don't go with a VPS just for cost reasons. If you already filled one server, you should be making more than enough profits to set up a second. If you're not, then you seriously need to rethink your business plan.
    No, you're right. But for $50/month the reseller account is a steal. Thanks though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    490
    Ask yourself why its so cheap. What is the vps provider in question? If its not one of the established ones running a good deal, then do you really want to put clients on that?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    517
    Originally posted by mkc
    Ask yourself why its so cheap. What is the vps provider in question? If its not one of the established ones running a good deal, then do you really want to put clients on that?
    It would be a reseller account with the place I bought the server from, ISNNetworks.net

    So no, I do not have a problem putting clients on it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •