Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133

    Shoutcast Recomendations?

    Hello,

    i am planning to offer shoutcast streaming soon on my site.

    Im well aware that it is very bandwidth hungry and i will need well over 1000GB's per month.

    I realy need to know what kind of server i will need and where i can get it? I have looked at ev1, SM and layered tech (layered tech is at the top atm)

    I just need to know realy what i should be looking for (processior, ram, hdd, etc). I dont want people replying saying stuff like 'search the forum' or 'use google' as i have already tried this

    I would also appreciate it if people dont reply with comments such as 'you should know this before you start' or 'its a stupid biz to be in' I just want some help

    Chears!

    Rick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168
    If you're not doing on-demand streaming, then a simple 40 GB IDE HD will work fine. As for CPU, i wouldn't go with anything lower than a P3 or low end AMD Duron. Depending on the number of listeners, 512 MB RAM should be enough for up to 2000 or so listeners, then you'll need another 512 for another 3000 listeners. Make sure your bandwidth cap is high enough to support enough people. Multiple Per GB servers, or an unmetered server works fine for media streaming, best of luck to you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419
    PIII's and durons work great. it is very cpu light.

    I never get a big load at all on the PIII's that I run it on and some of the servers are running 70 mbps with many different ports listening. cpu is no big deal at all.


    bandwidth is what you need.
    Dedicated Servers
    WWW.NETDEPOT.COM
    Since 2000

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133
    Ok, so mid range server...quite a bit of bandwidth, in terms of GB per month and mbps what would i need for say 2500 users @ 56kbps ?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133
    *sry for double post*

    Would a celeron or sempron be any good?
    Also does anyone have any company recomendations for the servers?

    Regards,

    Rick

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168
    Celerons and Semprons are more powerful than Durons/P3's so yeah they work fine. You need minimum 512 MB RAM though. I believe you will need around 140 mbps + overhead to handle 2500 listeners @ 56k. I would suggesting having a maximum of 160 mbps available at any given time. Best of luck to you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133
    Ok,

    how many would i ruffly be able to do on a 10mbps unmeatered?

    Thanks.

    Rick

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Originally posted by sketchy
    Ok, so mid range server...quite a bit of bandwidth, in terms of GB per month and mbps what would i need for say 2500 users @ 56kbps ?

    Thanks
    1 kilobits = 0.0009765625 megabits
    2500 * 56 = 140000 kilobits
    140000 * 0.0009765625 136.72 megabit per second bandwidth requirement.

    140000 kilobits per second * 60 seconds * 60 minutes * 24 hours * 31 days = 374976000000 kilobits

    374976000000 * 0.0009765625 = 366187500 megabits

    1 megabit = 0.125 megabytes

    366187500 * .125 = 45773437.5 megabytes in a month

    45773437.5 / 1024 = 44700.62255859375 Gigabytes in a month.

    44700.62255859375 = 1024 = 43.652951717376708984375 Terabytes in a month

    So if it was maxed out, you're looking at basically 43.65 TB of monthly bandwidth

    *tip* go to google, and type in the conversion you want:

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...ts&btnG=Search
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133
    Ahh right i see now

    Cheers guys, that helped alot! Now...i need a good provider...any recomendations?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    279
    Just for future referrence incase you want to know how much you'll generate based on period usage or concurrent... http://www.radiotoolbox.com/online_tools/bandwidth.php

    is a good site with a tool to help you out with that.

    As for a good provider, anyone who has a nice allotment of bandwidth or unmetered plans that are multihomed are best to resolve latency & to make sure the connection is good. Most unmetered providers are Cogent which is more hit or miss. You can also have several servers in a relay which you can setup with shoutcast to send listeners to different servers to balance out the load.
    Shawn R. Lockheart

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168
    Originally posted by Locke
    Just for future referrence incase you want to know how much you'll generate based on period usage or concurrent... http://www.radiotoolbox.com/online_tools/bandwidth.php

    is a good site with a tool to help you out with that.

    As for a good provider, anyone who has a nice allotment of bandwidth or unmetered plans that are multihomed are best to resolve latency & to make sure the connection is good. Most unmetered providers are Cogent which is more hit or miss. You can also have several servers in a relay which you can setup with shoutcast to send listeners to different servers to balance out the load.
    Actually most unmetered providers have a mix of Cogent + something else. If you want higher quality, you will have to pay substantially higher prices, and you'll be in the mid to low $x,xxx price range for what you want.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    There is no reason to go with high quality bandwidht for a shoutcast server as it is all UDP traffic anyways. Cogent will perform just fine.
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168
    Originally posted by justadollarhostin
    There is no reason to go with high quality bandwidht for a shoutcast server as it is all UDP traffic anyways. Cogent will perform just fine.
    Quality does not just mean the actual quality of traffic, but also the reliability, the SLA's, etc..

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133
    agh...now im confused...high quality...low quality...

    Just name some providers :p

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133
    Ok will do...chears

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK, England
    Posts
    133
    Just another quickie.

    If i had 1TB bandwidth p/m how many users @ 52 kbps?

    Thanks

  20. #20
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    95
    I see someone saying you need 160megabits.. so how high is your budget actually? Thats going to run you about around $2000 a month or more depending on who you pick.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168
    There's no such thing as 52 kbps in the shoutcast industry, it'd be 56k. It's harder to work with TB though, as working on a per-GB meter has variables like bursting and how long listeners are tuned in, etc.. 1 TB = ~3.1 mbps so that's roughly 50-55 listeners. However, if users are not tuned in 24/7, and you're using 25 at night, you can make a max slot of 75, because it would balance out to 50.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •