Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    287

    how to check if server has SCSI or IDE

    I was wondering if someone can tell me how can I find out if my server has SCSI or IDE drive, & also how to see if the server has specified memory or not.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    96
    If its a linux server you can type:

    dmesg | grep hd which will look for ide and you should see something like the following:

    hda: attached ide-disk driver.
    hda: host protected area => 1
    hda: 78165360 sectors (40021 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=4865/255/63, UDMA(100)
    md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.


    or

    dmesg | grep sd

    which you should then look for the smiliar output..

    or another option is

    cat /proc/partitions

    this will tell you the type of drive and partions.

    for memory you can check either

    free -m

    or

    cat /proc/meminfo

    -jb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    287
    When I login via WHM I see following message under Server Information.

    Processor InformationProcessor #1 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #1 Name: Intel(R) XEON(TM) CPU 2.00GHz
    Processor #1 speed: 2000.149 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #2 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #2 Name: Intel(R) XEON(TM) CPU 2.00GHz
    Processor #2 speed: 2000.149 MHz
    Processor #2 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #3 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #3 Name: Intel(R) XEON(TM) CPU 2.00GHz
    Processor #3 speed: 2000.149 MHz
    Processor #3 cache size: 512 KB

    Processor #4 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #4 Name: Intel(R) XEON(TM) CPU 2.00GHz
    Processor #4 speed: 2000.149 MHz
    Processor #4 cache size: 512 KB

    Memory Information
    System InformationLinux t1.myserverdomain.com 2.6.10-HN-2.1-P4 #1 SMP Thu Feb 10 11:39:28 EST 2005 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    Physcial Diskshda: IC35L120AVV207-0, ATA DISK drive
    hda: max request size: 1024KiB
    hda: 241254720 sectors (123522 MB) w/1821KiB Cache, CHS=16383/255/63, UDMA(100)
    hda: cache flushes supported

    Current Memory Usage total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 2072828 1344972 727856 0 30816 1136608
    -/+ buffers/cache: 177548 1895280
    Swap: 1052216 4 1052212
    Total: 3125044 1344976 1780068

    In the mean time I am going to download a ssh software and check about commands too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    287
    My server is suppose to have

    Dual Intel Xeon™ 2.0GHZ HYPERTHREAD
    Memory: 2GB DDR RAM
    1x 146 SCSI HD (Primary)
    1x 120 IDE HD (Secondary for backup via WHM)

    But am not 100% sure about what tye of primary & secondary HD do I have at this time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    3,080
    fdisk -l

    Run that and you can get the disk info you want.
    John W, CISSP, C|EH
    MS Information Security and Assurance
    ITEagleEye.com - Server Administration and Security
    Yawig.com - Managed VPS and Dedicated Servers with VIP Service

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,984
    I thought a very simple way is to tell about the size of the hard disk? IDE comes in 40 , 60 , 80 etc, while SCSI 36 , 73 etc

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,100
    You can use the following commands to get that inforamtion,

    dmesg | grep -i scsi


    or

    lspci -vv

    These commands are very good to check your servers installed hardwares.
    AssistanZ - Beyond Boundaries...
    Cloudstack Consultancy / 24x7 Web Hosting Support / 24x7 Server Management / Infrastructure Management Services
    Web & Mobile Apps Development / Web Designing Services / Php, Grails, Java Development

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    961
    /dev/hdX = (e)ide
    /dev/sdX = scsi (or s-ata?)
    run "mount" or "df" and see what pops up

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    287
    Oh I figured out, I was seeing primary drive space much more than 146 GB and wanted to make sure that they didn't gave me 160 IDE instead.. but it seems like as they didn't had 146 SCSI in stock and cuz of the little delay, they just gave me 181 GB SCSI as primary.

    Again, thanks a lot to everyone and I am going to copy all the command from here and write them in a text file on my computer, so they can come in handy in the future when time comes

    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •