Building my first 2U server

Hi!

I've never built a 2U server before, so I've got a couple of questions for you experts:

1) Can I put a regular ATX motherboard in SuperMicro 2U chasis or will I have to get one of those expensive TYAN's?
    2) Is registered (ECC) memory really important?

I'm serving a lot of images, rely heavily on MySQL and PHP for backend processing and expecting cca 5k - 7k visits per day.

3) Can I get away with an AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 4x 512 DDR pc3200 and 2 mirrored Seagate SATA 200GB 7200rpm?

I'd really like to serve pages as fast as possible, but currently I have very limited funds since I'm only starting so I can't really afford dual Opterons .

Thanks,
    C-chan

Hi Chiyo,

Alway's fun building your own server.
    1. Why not buying a barebone from Supermicro or Tyan? Then you have chassis, Power supply and motherboard at a reasonable price!
    2. ECC memory is important ... ECC stands for Error-Correcting Code memory.. your system is not going to perfom faster but more stable.
    3. You can get away with this configuration.

On a P4 (2GB) server we can serve 15-20K users asp/SQL server with images blobbed from the database and custom resized easily.

Best Regards,
    Marcel

Hi,

well, I checked around and the only barebone I can find is TYAN's (mb+psu+chassis) and they are very nice but also super expensive :\

So far I'm thinking of getting (supermicro.com/products/chassis/2U/822/SC822i-400RC.cfm) this Supermicro chassis, I guess ATX motherboards should fit in nicely and 4x 80mm fans would take care of the heat.

Would Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra S939 motherboard work out despite being a desktop motherboard? Or will I need more of a 'server motherboard' if I want to use hardware SATA raid and several gigs of ECC RAM?

Regards,
    C-chan

Why not buy a real server, i.e.

* Compaq DL580
    * Compaq DL380
    * Dell PowerEdge 2650

These are less than 1,000USD on eBay today, and are all far superior to this solution you're describing.