Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    38

    Setting up nameservers...?

    Hi there, I just setup a VPS package. In their setup email, they tell me that:

    You need to create the following name servers at your registrar:
    ns1.mysite.com using IP 1.2.3.4
    ns2.mysite.com using IP 1.2.3.5


    Problem is, I totally do not see an option to do this:

    http://members.delaware.net/~mdi/vps1.png
    http://members.delaware.net/~mdi/vps2.png


    Anyone out there know how to do this? I contacted [email protected], but they told me I needed to contact the registrar support regarding this. Problem with that is that I'd have to pay to get support from those fuc... err, fine people.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Galveston, TX USA
    Posts
    114
    Hopefully these Create private name servers flash tutorials will give you some helps.
    vps-mart.com
    Windows VPS Hosting Specialist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    93
    you need to have the company who you got your domain name through set up the dns for you and point them to the given ip addrssses (if you cannot log in and do this yourself) this alows people to use ns1.yourname.com and ns2.yourname.com for their webserver instead of ns1.yourprovider.com and ns2.yourprovider.com
    YourDotComPeople.com Hosting And Web Design For Small Businesses!

    YourHostPeople.com
    Your Hosting Company!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    387
    What is supposed to happen here is a registration at your domain registrar, to tell them that you are going to be running your own custom nameservers at the specific IP's given to you.

    For example, you would tell them that:

    "I am going to build DNS server on my own, and IP's to be used are these:

    ns1.mysite.com 83.149.123.140
    ns2.mysite.com 83.149.123.150"

    When this process is completed, then it is a simple issue of configuring bind/WHM on your VPS server.
    EuroVPS - Europe's Fully Managed Hosting
    Established 2004 - The European Hosting Authority

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    38
    eep... forgot to update this one. I've finally got things figured out, to a point anyway. The reason I couldn't figure out how to do this on my own is because my now-ex registrar (eHost) charges extra for this feature and has the option hidden away in a knowledgebase article. I'm currently in the process of transferring the domain to GoDaddy, and according to what I've read, it's pretty easy to get it set up there.

    Thanks to the three of ya,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    European Union
    Posts
    387
    Yes this is terrible news that they are charging extra, absolutely horrible business. We recommend that you are transferring your domain(s) to GoDaddy, we have many domains hosted there and could not be happier.

    If you need any more help you can post here and I will answer.

    Setting up DNS on a VPS is tricky if you're used to shared hosting & reseller hosting environment.
    EuroVPS - Europe's Fully Managed Hosting
    Established 2004 - The European Hosting Authority

  7. #7
    I have used GoDaddy for doing this before. Its very easy, and it seems to take effect in 5 minutes.
    Jason Cousineau

  8. #8
    does anybody know how to chage tt change the nameservers for a domain hosted by yahoo? I know it's probably the crapiest place to have domain name hosted but i wasn't counting on doing all this when I bought the domain name.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •