Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196

    cPanel transferring accounts

    I am having problems while trying to copy accounts to new server.
    The connection seems to be really really low, although it has no problems.

    Server has almost none traffic, but when the account transfer begins it seems to process really slow. (I get about 10 lines before 0% changes to 1% etc.)

    I can manually take a backup for all accounts and move them with wget with no problems. What might be causing this problem with cPanels automated function?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,109
    Not sure there is a problem? Normally it takes an hour just to move 8 - 12 accounts. Account size is relative of course, but that is the rule of thumb. Why don't you just give it some time?
    PotentProducts.com - for all your Hosting needs
    Helping people Host, Create and Maintain their Web Site
    ServerAdmin Services also available

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196
    Originally posted by Website Rob
    Not sure there is a problem? Normally it takes an hour just to move 8 - 12 accounts. Account size is relative of course, but that is the rule of thumb. Why don't you just give it some time?
    Well I have transfered accounts before too, and it has never earlier been a problem.

    If I transfer account using ~200MB disk space, it wont take more than couple of minutes, but with this server it'll take an hour.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    882
    This would most likely be attributed to a high load or a poor network connection on the source server.

    Maybe it is running backups currently as cpanel runs them during these hours of the day for most USA machines.
    Neosurge Web Services since 2002
    Neosurge VPS Hosting

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196
    Originally posted by Neosurge
    This would most likely be attributed to a high load or a poor network connection on the source server.

    Maybe it is running backups currently as cpanel runs them during these hours of the day for most USA machines.
    I thought so too, but it doesn't have high load and not working on anything else.

    There is also one problem, if I use wget to move backups to another server, this server is not capable of serving webpages while I am using wget.

    I assume webpages should work, but slower than normally.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois
    Posts
    882
    what does the output of top look like ?
    Neosurge Web Services since 2002
    Neosurge VPS Hosting

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    196
    Originally posted by Neosurge
    what does the output of top look like ?
    Here is the top as an attached file.

    CPU Usage: u76.66 s9.8 cu1.03 cs.23 - .668% CPU load
    3.79 requests/sec - 86.6 kB/second - 22.9 kB/request
    22 requests currently being processed, 3 idle servers
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails server.gif  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •