Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Colo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42

    Colo

    Not Interested In T1, T3, or any similar services I can get those at my house thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    ???? You're saying you're not interested in any T1's or T3's or any similiar product, then what are you asking for???
    James Lumby

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42

    wrong section

    I posted in the wrong section. But why would I colocate to just get a T1, Doesnt make any sense when you can get 3Mbps commit on a 100Mbps cat5 for less then a t1 costs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    In most colo's, you don't buy T-1's. You might buy the bandwidth of a T-1, but you actually just buy an ethernet handoff...
    James Lumby

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42
    yeah I know either ethernet or fiber, This guy from XO offered me a T1 for 450 Monthly, Imagine what I could get for 450 from a tier1 provider. Atleast 3-4 Mbps on a 100Mbps Burstable port. LOL If I wanted to run it out of my house I would go for a T1.

  6. #6
    You would probably get roughly 3mbps from a tier1 provider, with taht small 3mbps commit.

    Now that I think about it, probably barely that, since you want it burstable.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    LOL. Actually, I had heard that XO was fairly cheap.. Never looked at having them brought in because I've heard of too many problems with them..
    James Lumby

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42

    Your DC

    Wheres your data center located?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    Mine? Dallas, Tx in the InfoMart.
    James Lumby

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42

    haha, I...

    I had asked for a 100Mbps burstable port. the only answer I got was 1.54Mbps on a 100Mbps Ethernet from the T1 Head End LOL

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    Nice......
    James Lumby

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42
    Texas is a good place for Colo space. But I need Seattle

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    Ahhh, why is that??? I prefer Texas personally, although Seattle is nice.
    James Lumby

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42
    They need to put a true DC up here in Washington. All they have that I know of is Fisher Plaza, and the westin building, There is some other corny ones around that try to sell you 512K for 400 a month. Thats one I know of in Tacoma. and thats off a T3 HAHA

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    Unfortunately, I can't speak intelligently of that area in reguards to this business, but I would have to assume it is because they have to backhaul their connections somewhere and their fiber loop fees are ridiculous.. My guess at least..
    James Lumby

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Auburn, Wa
    Posts
    42
    My understanding is its not as easy as it used to be to get laying rights. So you are prolly 110% correct on that one.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,556
    Hai well.. Not much you can do in that case, the cost has to get passed down to the customer..
    James Lumby

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,991
    You've got a ton of options in the Seattle area.

    If you don't like anyone at the Westing building, or Internap at Fisher Plaza, then check out Intergate, or Seattle Gateway.

    Seattle Gateway is home to Level3 and others. Intergate has several providers as well, including Above, IIRC.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •