Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    307

    Site5 - 3 Month Review

    I think I found the one this time.

    I bought my domain in October 2004 and since then I've been looking for the right host.

    In march I made a quick transfer to Site5 after having problems with ResellerZoom. You can read the full history searching my posts here.

    3 hours after signing up I received the welcome message with login and password. Everything went smoothly and support answered my questions in less than 15 minutes.

    Site5 monitors my server with WebSitePulse and since February the server is up for 99.94% of the time.

    All mantainance was priorly informed via e-mail and forum and executed during off-peak hours.

    Server load is very low most of the times. 90% the time I check the server load is bellow 1.00. In 9.9% of the time is bellow 3.00 and in 0.1% is more than 3. Considering the processor (Dual Xeon 2.8 HT) I don't think this numbers are bad at all.

    During the SuperHosting boom support was slow and people were complaining. They managed to get support back together and today average response time is 15 minutes again.

    Forums are very active and useful at Site5. They hired a very talented guy to look over the forum and help users with minor problems.

    Now they launched MySite5 and it is great. I can manage my account and my billing information in seconds on a secure environment. MySite5 not only looks great but also works very well.

    Uptime - 9.94/10
    Server Load - 9.90/10
    Support - 9.86/10

    Overall - 9.9/10
    ACcomunica
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    EU - east side
    Posts
    21,913
    Thank you very much for writing this review ACcomunica. It is good to hear that you were with them before, during, and after their SuperHosting launch, and that you can testify that their support is back to what it used to be.
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    homeless
    Posts
    203
    thank you for this review aswell. Ill definetly consider Site5 among with others on the next choice ill make for reseller account within US.

    THX
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,640
    I agree with everything that's been said so far
    Simpli Networks, LLC :: http://www.simplinetworks.com :: Proudly 100% Owned.
    Providing Affordable Managed Cloud/VPS Servers & Server Management Solutions.
    We offer REAL 24x7x365 in-house support - proudly serving our customers since 2005!
    Want to learn more? Give us a call - +1 (844) 4SIMPLI or email sales[@]simplinetworks.com today!
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    berlin
    Posts
    45

    Exclamation yeah, but...

    site5 is intresting and been stable from 3 months of my adventure with them but nova days stuff gets a bit messy:

    - last week twice i noticed mysql down (while browsing a site, not developing, so its been prapable more often)
    - awstats dont work on my server, its down since start of the month.
    - bandwith monitor in whm been not working for a week (its ok now.)
    - load on "my box" sometimes jumps to 10, dynamic sites slows down.

    my ticket concerning awstats is not solved since 3 days (#ILR-94472-364), next one that i have open is not solved since 18 h (#ANW-60878-826).
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southwest Florida
    Posts
    955
    Could I please ask what site you two have hosted with them,
    ACcomunica and szczym..

    There needs to be a rule that if you write a review, you must provide the proof.
      0 Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    berlin
    Posts
    45
    i dont see a need for that - i would need to give you cpanel account to check the awstats issue, and whm for bandwith monitor.

    but as fare as i know site5 pepole activity on wht, they will confirm that problems.

    sorry for my english.
      0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,640
    Originally posted by szczym
    i dont see a need for that - i would need to give you cpanel account to check the awstats issue, and whm for bandwith monitor.

    but as fare as i know site5 pepole activity on wht, they will confirm that problems.

    sorry for my english.
    You don't need to give us access to your cPanel account, just your domain name with them is fine (we can't look into your issue anyways). We're asking for the domain name for verification that your a customer of Site5 .

    -- Jonathan
    Simpli Networks, LLC :: http://www.simplinetworks.com :: Proudly 100% Owned.
    Providing Affordable Managed Cloud/VPS Servers & Server Management Solutions.
    We offer REAL 24x7x365 in-house support - proudly serving our customers since 2005!
    Want to learn more? Give us a call - +1 (844) 4SIMPLI or email sales[@]simplinetworks.com today!
      0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    307
    Originally posted by ScreamingEaglePC
    Could I please ask what site you two have hosted with them,
    ACcomunica and szczym..

    There needs to be a rule that if you write a review, you must provide the proof.
    I'm sending a PM to ldcdc listing the sites I host with Site5. I will ask him to post here after that.
    ACcomunica
      0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Yes, I'm loving Site5 as well. So far the support people are excellent and I've had few problems.

    Enjoy one of my hosted sites:
    http://www.teleportationnow.com
      0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    EU - east side
    Posts
    21,913
    I can confirm that ACcomunica does indeed have websites hosted at Site5.
      0 Not allowed!

  12. #12

    Re: yeah, but...

    Originally posted by szczym
    site5 is intresting and been stable from 3 months of my adventure with them but nova days stuff gets a bit messy:

    - last week twice i noticed mysql down (while browsing a site, not developing, so its been prapable more often)
    - awstats dont work on my server, its down since start of the month.
    - bandwith monitor in whm been not working for a week (its ok now.)
    - load on "my box" sometimes jumps to 10, dynamic sites slows down.

    my ticket concerning awstats is not solved since 3 days (#ILR-94472-364), next one that i have open is not solved since 18 h (#ANW-60878-826).
    Awstats and bandwidth are both issues we're actively addressing:
    a) we will be adding servers to our network for the sole purpose of processing statistics so that we don't have to eat up webserver resources crunching logs
    b) we developed a new bandwidth tracking system to replace what's there now. The system is finished being tested and will be available in NetAdmin 4 by Friday of this week.

    As far as load/mySQL issues, those are not widespread and would be server-specific. We perform regular fleet-wide server performance audits, and we're now in the process of distributing accounts from some of our busier servers (it sounds like yours might be one of these) to a batch of fresh servers that have been provisioned for this sole purpose. If you send me a note with your account information, I'll be sure to look into the issue for you and make sure that the situation is handled to your satisfaction.

    Matt
    Matt Lightner - http://www.mattlightner.com/
    - First initial to the last name at the mail service provided by the world's largest search engine
    - Founder and CEO (Former) Site5.com, sold in 2008
    - Really honestly wants to be a good WHT citizen but can never remember all the correct etiquette. Mods, sorry in advance
      0 Not allowed!

  13. #13
    Does Site 5 allow SSH? I just signed up with Hostgator and cancelled because I forgot to ask that question before signing up!

    Also, do they have Urchin stats?
      0 Not allowed!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    EU - east side
    Posts
    21,913
    ambaxter, the best place to ask would be Site5's sales department. AFAIK Site5 does give SSH access, but not offer Urchin.

    Here's a recent thread regarding the SSH feature on Site5's support forums: http://forums.site5.com/showthread.php?t=3720
      0 Not allowed!

  15. #15
    Nice review.
      0 Not allowed!

  16. #16
    Thanks for the info. I had submitted a few questions to S5 before posting, but hadn't heard anything. They contacted me, tough.

    You all are most helpful!
      0 Not allowed!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •