Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    30

    Question HTTP Port Forwarding

    Hey guys,

    I am trying to setup my computer as an HTTP Server, using "FastStream NetFile Server" to share files with other people. I have Windows XP SP2 w/Firewall + LinkSys Router + Zone Alarm Pro. I have forwarded port 80 and configured the SP2 firewall as well as Zone Alarm. I am able to view the contents of my directory via WAN IP, however other people cannot. Therefore I have come to a conclusion its a port issue. I have a static IP setup, and have done all the necessary adjustments and still no luck.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    30
    Correction* Im using a Dynamic DNS managing service (No-IP.Com) since I donnot have a static IP.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    464
    Try and access your site internally, but with the external IP, what happens then?

    Your providor might have blocked port 80.
    Net Logistics Web Hosting - Solutions Through Innovation

  4. #4
    Originally posted by Karthick
    Try and access your site internally, but with the external IP, what happens then?

    Your providor might have blocked port 80.
    I dont think that will work, since the router will block the IP and the request will time out, *I think* as mine does to prevent an ip spoof? anyway use a proxy and you can get round this, also try disabling Zone Alarm, I found it blocked 99% of useful traffice

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    464
    Originally posted by hobnob
    I dont think that will work, since the router will block the IP
    Uh.. if the router is blocking it on his internal network itself then there is his problem.
    Net Logistics Web Hosting - Solutions Through Innovation

  6. #6
    Originally posted by Karthick
    Uh.. if the router is blocking it on his internal network itself then there is his problem.
    He said in his original post that olther people could not see it? I guess he means via his IP, and if they cant see it via his IP but he can see it via the internal IP then this isnt the problem, Either port forwarding or making shure the web service is not running just on localhost could help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    464
    Originally posted by hobnob
    He said in his original post that olther people could not see it? I guess he means via his IP, and if they cant see it via his IP but he can see it via the internal IP then this isnt the problem, Either port forwarding or making shure the web service is not running just on localhost could help.
    What do you mean that isn't the problem? If he can't access his external IP internally and he is forwarding the port (which he said he did) then his ISP is most likely blocking port 80.
    Net Logistics Web Hosting - Solutions Through Innovation

  8. #8
    Originally posted by Karthick
    What do you mean that isn't the problem? If he can't access his external IP internally and he is forwarding the port (which he said he did) then his ISP is most likely blocking port 80.
    Nope, As I understand If you are on the same internal address range as the server in question, and have the same ip range allocated by the dhcp (router in this case) you will not be able to access the server via the external IP, just like you will not be able to ftp it via the external IP, you will have to view it via the internal 192.168 IP, However... If other people cant see the webpage but you can then yes, either the ISP has blocked the port or you have not correctly forwarded the port, but as far as im aware you should not be able to access the server via its external IP. Try turning off all firewalls etc inc windows.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    464
    Originally posted by hobnob
    Nope, As I understand If you are on the same internal address range as the server in question, and have the same ip range allocated by the dhcp (router in this case) you will not be able to access the server via the external IP
    Why not?
    Net Logistics Web Hosting - Solutions Through Innovation

  10. #10
    Originally posted by Karthick
    Why not?
    because I belive you could spoof your ip as being from a local machine , i,e from outside make your ip look like an internal one and gain access to peoples machine/ shared resources.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    464
    Originally posted by hobnob
    because I belive you could spoof your ip as being from a local machine , i,e from outside make your ip look like an internal one and gain access to peoples machine/ shared resources.
    But that is why you must port forward for external access. So anything hitting the external IP on that port will be routed to whatever the admin specified.
    Net Logistics Web Hosting - Solutions Through Innovation

  12. #12
    Originally posted by Karthick
    But that is why you must port forward for external access. So anything hitting the external IP on that port will be routed to whatever the admin specified.
    Yep, External access for any IP other than the ones which are private local Ip's, which you access by using their internal Ip's, Portforwarding just processes the request from an outside source, your Ip would be an internal request, therefore you access it via the internal private IP. Otherwise a hacker could pose his address as a request from a local machine and gain acess to the whole internal network

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    464
    I think his external IP accessed internally will be hop 1, just a guess.
    Net Logistics Web Hosting - Solutions Through Innovation

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    30
    Thanks for the help guys, I fixed the problem by reseting my router and updating the Linksys Firmware Version. For some reason I cannot get it function on port 80, so Ive setup it up on port 90.

    Feel free to check it out: http://xenez.myftp.org:90

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    464
    Originally posted by MissionSk8r21
    Thanks for the help guys, I fixed the problem by reseting my router and updating the Linksys Firmware Version. For some reason I cannot get it function on port 80, so Ive setup it up on port 90.
    You might want to ask a moderator to take that link out of your post.
    Net Logistics Web Hosting - Solutions Through Innovation

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •