Question UK: Building my first server

Hi all,

I'm going into the specific e-commerce side of web hosting with my own software solution.

Although I'm an experienced programmer, and I've also built my own desktop/tower PCs in the past, building a rackmount server is a completely new challenge for me.

I'm going to colocate with *a* company (haven't decided for sure which company yet) with a view to getting into Redbus III (Sovereign House). I think this is a sound choice.

I can get a Chenbro RM214 case from X-Case.co.uk as they're local to me, so I think I'm going to do that. I'm told a 2U server is a better buy for a dual CPU configuration, better cooling etc.

What kind of hardware should I be looking at to fill it? And does anyone have experience with this case? I considered the Supermicro angle, via Broadberry, but they are VERY expensive and I'm convinced I can build this myself.

I think I would like:

Xeon 3.2 Ghz * 2
    SCSI-enabled motherboard (Ultra320 or something?)
    SCSI Hard Disk, 10k speed should be okay, not sure about the size?
    2GB RAM, I guess I can expand this later
    + some kind of backup device - internal IDE?

If some experienced people could give me a hand with this, I would be monumentally grateful. I know roughly what I need, but I don't, for example, know which motherboard to go for or where to get it in the UK (I'm used to dealing with companies selling desktop components). Ideally I'd like to find a place around London or the Home Counties.

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer - perhaps this will be a help to other people in my position in the future!

I would check out Newegg.com although they are a US distributor, but they are the best IMO.

I would recommend the following:

Tyan Dual Opteron Board (Search for Dual Socket 940 boardsw/SCSI) or
    Tyan S2882G3NR-D ( if you can deal with SATA/IDE)
    2 x Opteron 246's
    2G Ram (using 512M Sticks the Tyan's have support for 16 slots I believe)