Smile What do I need? What can I expect to pay?

Hello there! Newbie here. Sorry for barging in and asking questions... but it seemed like that this would be the perfect place to seek information.

Okay, here's the deal. I've given up on "free hosting". It isn’t worth the trouble. So moving on....

This is what I'm wanting to do. I want to register a domain and have a little bit of web space so I can put up a message board for members of a small World of Warcraft guild. Since we're so small, I don't think a lot of bandwidth is required. I'm not sure how much space a message board would need though. Anyway, that is pretty much it.

What kind of host do I need? How much would this cost me? Domains are around 10 bones per year, right? Perhaps some places give a little bit of web space with the purchase of a domain?

Anyway, any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!!

-- Kyle

Domains can be had for even less - and the majority of hosts will offer you a free domain to signup with them.

All hosts have different features and pricing - contact any that you're considering and ask them a few questions about what you're interested in setting up.
    Web hosting by Fused — For businesses with more important things to do than worry about their hosting.

Chicago, Illinois
    Hi Kyle,

I would just start with a basic plan and make sure that the host you choose will let you upgrade your plan for free as your site grows. Take a look at the shared and reseller offers here and I am sure you will find a good solution that meets your needs.

Northern VA
    Around $7-$8 a year for a domain is not atypical.

Depends on how few people you have visiting your site. It sounds like you'd be able to get away with less than 1 GB storage and 40 GB bandwidth.