Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Forum on a 128mb Ram Dedicated Server

    I run an active forum at the moment, but recently my host has had a few outages.

    I transfer 25-30 gb a month, around 1gb a day, little less at weekends. I've found a cheapish dedicated server but it only has 128mb RAM. Would that be able to handle my forum?

    Mark.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Bosnia and Herzegovina/Banja Luka
    Posts
    60
    How much money? Why don't you check out some vps offers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    520

    Re: Forum on a 128mb Ram Dedicated Server

    Originally posted by marklcfc
    I run an active forum at the moment, but recently my host has had a few outages.

    I transfer 25-30 gb a month, around 1gb a day, little less at weekends. I've found a cheapish dedicated server but it only has 128mb RAM. Would that be able to handle my forum?

    Mark.
    that most likely would not handle your forum.

    What forum is it (software)? You'll need atleast 256mb to keep any small forum happy.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    774
    There's a strong chance that your forum WILL work fine on 128megs of ram.

    If you had no peaks, your bandwidth usage suggests an average of 12k/sec. I'd guess at 5 users being online on average, with a peak of maybe 25 users online? Based on this, your server should be able to handle it fine. Since I'm just hitting a rough guess here, if you could provide us with your "record" amount of users this would help alot.

    It would also be nice to know the CPU and HDD on this new server.

    The software you are using would help alot too.

    Hoggers = phpBB / YaBB-SE
    Average = vBulletin
    Speeder = SMF

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,601
    I would be tempted to say try and spend a bit more. Really the more RAM the better on this as you have to plan for peaks and it can be a false econmy going for cheaper hardware. For example if you get money from the advertising on the website then should you have downtime due to lack of RAM you could miss advertising revenus. Spending a bit extra now could save you hassel in the long run

    Rus
    Russ Foster - Industry Curmudgeon

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    3,498
    Wow... 128MB RAM. Are you sure you are not looking at a VPS?
    At Layeredtech you can get a Sempron with 512MB RAM and an 80GB IDE drive for around $60, with Plesk $65.
    (www.layeredtech.com)

    128MB RAM is too low.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    193
    if DirtCheap on offers board.. they usually have decent machiens for your req like $30-40 for p3 with 512, but there sales usually sell out in a few hours

  8. #8

    Re: Re: Forum on a 128mb Ram Dedicated Server

    Originally posted by TulipSystems

    What forum is it (software)? You'll need atleast 256mb to keep any small forum happy.
    Invision

    Originally posted by shockuk

    If you had no peaks, your bandwidth usage suggests an average of 12k/sec. I'd guess at 5 users being online on average, with a peak of maybe 25 users online? Based on this, your server should be able to handle it fine. Since I'm just hitting a rough guess here, if you could provide us with your "record" amount of users this would help alot.
    Record amount of users online is 134, but that includes guests. Members wise, it can get to 30-50 online at the same time. The only time 5 or so users are online is at times like 2-3 am in the morning.

    Originally posted by adb22791
    Wow... 128MB RAM. Are you sure you are not looking at a VPS?
    At Layeredtech you can get a Sempron with 512MB RAM and an 80GB IDE drive for around $60, with Plesk $65.
    (www.layeredtech.com)

    128MB RAM is too low.
    It was a dedicated server, look at the bottom of this page..
    http://www.servepath.com/servers/c0.htm

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Miami FL
    Posts
    288
    Try looking here for better offers... http://www.layeredtech.com/servers.php

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    3,498
    Ouch, $58 per month for that?
    Try Layeredtech or Serverbeach.
    Good luck,

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    38
    Originally posted by davef139
    if DirtCheap on offers board.. they usually have decent machiens for your req like $30-40 for p3 with 512, but there sales usually sell out in a few hours
    dirtcheapwebservers.com has closed down its business.

    Maybe you can try wholesaleinternet.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    232
    what kind of language is your forum? if it's PHP, there are heaps of VPS you can try~like powerVPS~

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Try out layered tech. There was one for $55 a month with 512 ram. Should run Invision well.
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •