FreeBSD or CentOS?

Hey
    I'm a newbie to servers as you might have guessed. Anyhow I'm gonna be using a lot of PHP/MySQL and we're going to be using Cpanel/WHM too. So basically these are the two choices of OS and I would like to have some opinions on what would be the best to get taking into account the usage.
    Are they both reliable and stable with php/mysql/cpanel etc?
    Easy to use etc.

Thanks for any input, I've seen these threads on the forums however most of them are just asking the general question of what is 'best'.

Re: FreeBSD or CentOS?

Originally posted by ChrisTGP
    Hey
    I'm a newbie to servers as you might have guessed. Anyhow I'm gonna be using a lot of PHP/MySQL and we're going to be using Cpanel/WHM too. So basically these are the two choices of OS and I would like to have some opinions on what would be the best to get taking into account the usage.
    Are they both reliable and stable with php/mysql/cpanel etc?
    Easy to use etc.

Thanks for any input, I've seen these threads on the forums however most of them are just asking the general question of what is 'best'.
    CentOS/RHEL is more mainstream. You will find more help along the way with this platform.

FreeBSD is a highly respected OS, but with less wide-spread appeal. It is known to be rock solid.
    Ray Womack @ atOmicVPS LTD
    Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting Solutions Powered by OnApp
    Fully Managed [Shared][Reseller][Cloud VPS] [Dedicated]
    Featuring the atOmicSTACK ● Speed ● Performance ● Reliability

Although there are alot of "generalized" comparison threads, try looking at some of the older stuff and you'll get more technical comparisons.

I'm sure what you need has been posted a squillion times before

In my experience of using several machines with freebsd/cpanel I would strongly reccomend using centos instead. Cpanel has bsd support as an afterthought and quite often it is bugged (at least at a much higher frequency then the linux based builds are).