Results 1 to 36 of 36
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13

    * Help With Datacenter Set Up

    Hi, well, actually I'm planning to set up a datacenter in my home, well.. just 1 server, i'll buy the server tomorrow (pentium IV, 712 mb ram, red hat 9 os).

    Problems:

    1.- Connection (speed is about 250kbps send and 512 kbps recieve(i would like to switch it but i can't), the ip is dynamic).

    2.- Server Control Panel (i've been looking and trying a lot of control panels all around, the whorst was Cpanel cause after install my computer turned very slow (15 secs to type a letter) so I rebooted my redhat computer, then the graphical login disappeared and said that bandmin had an error, so i reintalled redhat, reinstalled cpanel, and the same happended. Plesk and Ensim would be great bu t actually my economy can't support them, and i'm planning to host personal and friends sites only, so any way to pay it..., I installed webmin, but couldn't do anythink, then installed xampp (apache friends) but i couldn't set up vhosts and phpmyadmin was not working).

    Well, I'm in big trouble, and I really like to set up the web server, so, could anyone help me please??

    I would appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    294
    You might be able to get away with hosting a couple of your own low-volume sites, but if you think you are going to go into the hosting business with that setup, you are misinformed.

    1) You can't run a hosting biz off a dynamic IP address.
    2) Your ISP's terms most likely prohibit you from running servers on their network.
    3) You don't have enough upload speed to accommodate anything but the smallest of sites.

    If you're serious about getting into the hosting business, save your money and rent a server in a datacenter OR co-locate the machine you are buying in a real datacenter.
    Mark Oberg
    Techweenies.com

    (No longer affiliated with Uneedawebsite.com)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    I said I'm going to host personal and friend's sites only, and I talked with the ISP support team and there's no problem with running a web server, I mean, the offer stable ips for 150 usd/month and dynamic ips for 30 usd/month, speed is the same.

    The problem is the hosting enviroment, I need a good control panel almost for free or any kind of control panel that doesn't costs over 10 usd/month, I said i really can't pay much, I'm not a planning to run a public server, I actually own a hosting website but it's completly out of this case.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    261
    I think there's a misunderstanding of the term 'datacenter.'

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    well actually there isn't

    I know a datacenter have a lot of servers, a really good connection, and so on, but a web server can be understood as a dedicated server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,479
    Yes, a webserver could be considered a dedicated server, but the location of a server is not called a datacenter.

    Anyway, try http://www.webmin.com/ or other free control panels.

    Originally posted by fushy
    well actually there isn't

    I know a datacenter have a lot of servers, a really good connection, and so on, but a web server can be understood as a dedicated server.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Stony Plain, AB
    Posts
    606
    There is a very large difference between a datacenter....and your house.

    It would be a much better idea to colo that machine in a real datacenter. For safty, speed and uptime.

    -eddy
    Tired of jumping web hosting providers? Tired of OVERSELLING? Tired of Poor service/quality?
    Are you Finally realizing You Get What You Pay For In Life?
    If So...Please Visit ***** eServicesUnlimited***** - We Guarantee 100% Satisfaction we promise that!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    a datacenter is a place where web servers are locatted, doesn't matter how many or the connection, but it's not the point.

    The point is that I can't find any good control panel, I previously installed WebMin but it didn't worked.

    And please stop trying to sell me dedicated servers, cause I won't.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    rowland hts, california
    Posts
    791
    You can't even manage to get Webmin operating?
    josh

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    70
    Try using the search feature for the forum "Hosting Software and Control Panels". There are plenty of discussions on all the different control panels out there. Free or not.

    As far as a datacenter is concerned your use of the term is not accurate for your environment. You are simply hosting your own web server on your residential broadband connection.

    I won't go into what a datacenter is but it entails having more than ONE connection to the internet at large.

    Check that forum it has tons of questions exactly such as yours.
    Jacob Squires , CISSP

    security assesment, network analysis

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,284
    Webmin works fine. It's not the most fancy control panel but it's certainyl reliable. If you want something else, and free I'd suggest a trip to sourceforge.net or freshmeat.net anddo a search for control panels or web based control panels. Still nothing - try googl for the same terms. There oare man many panels out there includign free ones.

    I have a 40" rack in my basement office with machines in it but I don't call it a data center. Though other 4 letter words have been applied to it on occasion
    "Obsolesence is just a lack of imagination."

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    454
    you might give hsphere a try with its ability to just purchase the licenses you need. Only problem may be the 25 minimum so you are looking at about 112.50 for 25 accounts. But in my opinion, its worth every penny.
    [color=#666666]Ackoo Solutions, LLC

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    I'm able to pay 10 usd/month or 100 usd/lifetime license, but a problem is that i'm running a dynamic ip address, i think there should be a way to update my license's ip at any time.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Big Apple (I Love NY)
    Posts
    1,108
    Might be cheaper in the long run getting a low end server (or low end colocation). More reliable too.
    SeeksAdmin .:. Linux & Windows Server Management
    24/7 Coverage | 30 Day Guarantee | Fast Response Times
    Quality Outsourced Customer Support Services
    █ Drop Me A Line For Special Offers

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,750
    Surely of you can afforard it co-locate in a local datacentre, You say your gonna buy your server you could work out a pretty cheap co-location deal and that way you can do more with the hosting maybe even sell some to friends.
    Good luck whatever you decide
    -Naz

  17. #17
    You better ask your dad before you setup a server in his garage, he might get abit angry.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    89

    Re: Help With Datacenter Set Up

    Originally posted by fushy
    Hi, well, actually I'm planning to set up a datacenter in my home, well.. just 1 server, i'll buy the server tomorrow (pentium IV, 712 mb ram, red hat 9 os).

    Problems:

    1.- Connection (speed is about 250kbps send and 512 kbps recieve(i would like to switch it but i can't), the ip is dynamic).

    2.- Server Control Panel (i've been looking and trying a lot of control panels all around, the whorst was Cpanel cause after install my computer turned very slow (15 secs to type a letter) so I rebooted my redhat computer, then the graphical login disappeared and said that bandmin had an error, so i reintalled redhat, reinstalled cpanel, and the same happended. Plesk and Ensim would be great bu t actually my economy can't support them, and i'm planning to host personal and friends sites only, so any way to pay it..., I installed webmin, but couldn't do anythink, then installed xampp (apache friends) but i couldn't set up vhosts and phpmyadmin was not working).

    Well, I'm in big trouble, and I really like to set up the web server, so, could anyone help me please??

    I would appreciate it.

    What do you mean? you means yours is called Data Center?
    If every house with a computer, online 24 hours, with web server software installed is considered Data Center, there will be millions of Data Center out there.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    Free control panel : http://vhcs.net/new/

    Has a lot of potential, give it a whirl
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  20. #20
    Lots of people start their hosting businesses from home. I did.

    The reason for me was that being inexperienced at the time, it gave me real comfort that I could admin the boxes from the console, any time day or night. I had a rack in my loft and a proper internet connection though.

    Over time I spent less and less time visiting the servers, preferring to admin them from the comfort of my armchair or office. At the point where I needed a fiber connection and aircon, it became cheaper to move the whole lot into a rack in a datacenter. It also made a huge difference to the electricity bill!

    Here is my advice though:

    * RH9 is not a sensible choice for OS. its very old. Maybe look at Fedora or Gentoo for something free.
    * Without at least one static IP you will have trouble as you have no control over when it will change.
    * Learn a few admin skills. A Webmin install should take less than 2 minutes. (When I started I used Webmin and it helped my admin skills hugely)

    I actually started hosting in 1998 with a 64k internet connection, but that was in the day where everyone else was on dialup. I reconed that a single dialup user used about 3k of bandwidth so I had some headroom even with a small connection. This worked well at first as the sites hosted were all new and pulling very little traffic.

    The killer was email attachments. If you are managing people's email then there is nothing to stop another email server from maxing out your line with a 50MB attachment. This will kill your web traffic.

    These sort of lessons will make you realize that colocating a box is a sensible choice, at least when you have some paying customers.

    Good Luck!

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    Also a visit to a site from something like googlebot could kill it
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    back of some datacenter
    Posts
    140
    This is going to get even better if his ISP turns out to filter port 80 and 25

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    699
    Originally posted by fushy
    I said I'm going to host personal and friend's sites only, and I talked with the ISP support team and there's no problem with running a web server, I mean, the offer stable ips for 150 usd/month and dynamic ips for 30 usd/month, speed is the same.

    The problem is the hosting enviroment, I need a good control panel almost for free or any kind of control panel that doesn't costs over 10 usd/month, I said i really can't pay much, I'm not a planning to run a public server, I actually own a hosting website but it's completly out of this case.

    What do you need the control panel for?
    Is it for maintaing the server, or is it for the customers.

    For server management (and basic customer management- it's not very good at all), you could try Webmin. It's free.
    From a technical standpoint, it's got much more features than cPanel, since it basically do anything with your machine, but it's not setup for hosting- it is just a SERVER control panel more than anything else.
    Andrew Thomas

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    2,168

  25. #25
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    I need the control panel to manage accounts, domains, and all the stuff on the web server.

    Accoring to you, how many computers should have a place to become a datacenter? i think at least 1, and it's not a home computer, it's running on red hat 9 text-mode.

    Thanks.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    124
    lets end this folks...

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...e%3Adatacenter

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...er&btnG=Search

    A datacenter is not your home no matter how many servers you have. A datacenter will have no other tasks other than it's intended functions of housing telecom/internet equipment.

    If you ISP can't get you a dedicated Ip for less than $25 per month i'd say it's time to look for another company. I have 2 dedicated IP's on my DSL line for $10 per month each. I also have a RoadRunner cable modem connection with 5 statics for $25 per month. If you are unable to obtain a static at low cost then it would be better just to co-locate at a local facility. The cost wouldnt be much more.

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,284
    If you ISP can't get you a dedicated Ip for less than $25 per month i'd say it's time to look for another company.
    I wish! Can't get a dedicated IP here on DSL for less that $350/month and it's still only 3mbps/640kbps. As for going elsewhere - no choice as there is only one DSL provider, the telephone company. Cable isn't any better.

    Another reason, for some places anyway, why a "home solution" isn't feasible.
    "Obsolesence is just a lack of imagination."

  28. #28
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    Check out this:

    http://www.prodigy.com.mx/infinitum_adsl/h_planes.htm

    The prices are pesos(mexican money) and 11.36 pesos is 1 usd.
    I would be able to pay a dedicated ip but the connection is horrible for that price, would you pay 120 USD/Month for 128 kbps upload and 256 download?? I won't, it's a steal.

  29. #29
    If you dont have a static IP how do you plan to have it work? I mean you need a DNS box some where and that would need at least one static IP.

    I would not sugest hosting anysites that people are paying for from a home connection.

    The only things i run from my home is our VOIP PBX server, and a few aplication servers for internal use.

    All that is on a 6000/768kbps DSL connection with 4 IPs, I cant imagine hosting with out a static IP.

    You also need to think about power and power backups.
    Max Wilson

  30. #30
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mexico City
    Posts
    13
    I repeat, I'm not using this server for commercial use, it will host personal and friend's sites, and there are tools around the web (www.noip.com and other) that can help me on my problem.

    I will try to install Webmin again, i'll tell you the results.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    770
    Originally posted by fushy
    I would be able to pay a dedicated ip but the connection is horrible for that price, would you pay 120 USD/Month for 128 kbps upload and 256 download?? I won't, it's a steal.
    I don't understand you, first you're buying a whole server, then you're thinking about leasing a 256 kbps line (which a single surfer can easily hog), and you're talking about making it cheap whereas you can lease quality servers at quality datacenters for less money than you plan to spend on a shaky and extremely slow home solution.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    513
    Why on Earth are you doing this rather than rent a server or get a reseller account?

    Methinks you're crazy!

  33. #33
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    31
    webmin is only two lines of commands if you pm i can give you the line to paste in your bash prompt. That is really very easy to install.

    I once setup a server in myhouse and thought i couple host anything. The fact is that a T1 isnt even enough for hosting. But if you are doing small things on it will be a fun experience!
    VPS Specialists. Dedicated. Colocation

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    101
    You may want to take a look at the dslwebserver forums to find some of the answers you are looking for. http://forums.dslwebserver.com/

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352
    Originally posted by dg_ak
    lets end this folks...

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...e%3Adatacenter

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...er&btnG=Search

    A datacenter is not your home no matter how many servers you have. A datacenter will have no other tasks other than it's intended functions of housing telecom/internet equipment.

    If you ISP can't get you a dedicated Ip for less than $25 per month i'd say it's time to look for another company. I have 2 dedicated IP's on my DSL line for $10 per month each. I also have a RoadRunner cable modem connection with 5 statics for $25 per month. If you are unable to obtain a static at low cost then it would be better just to co-locate at a local facility. The cost wouldnt be much more.
    for sure. there is a reason why datacenter is datacenter and not home is datacenter with a computer transfering data.

    jebus! if i can call my apt. as datacenter. i'm going to sell dedicated server with my dsl.

    a datacenter is not home plus a computer transfering data!

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352
    Originally posted by fushy
    I repeat, I'm not using this server for commercial use, it will host personal and friend's sites, and there are tools around the web (www.noip.com and other) that can help me on my problem.

    I will try to install Webmin again, i'll tell you the results.
    someone else already mention VHCS. why are you still asking?

    either buy a commerical cp or use the free cp.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •