My struggle with colocation!

I've got to be honest when I say that I am new to colocation. I've been housing 12 servers on a dedicated provider for a very long time and I am ready to move to colocation.

I live in the Indianapolis area, and there are just flat out without question no colocation providers here. Thus I look north to Chicago. I've found a few providers who offer colocation there which I believe I can afford however I can't pull the trigger to pick up the phone and call them.

I sit here with 10 Dell Poweredge 2850's ready to be deployed, as well as my switch and rotuer...

I have to admit I am scared to call someone about going colo. I dont know what the fear is, but for me its a big jump.

Can some of you guys please offer some advice on what to look for with a colocation provider, what are the main benifits, what bandwidth providers should I try to stay away from? Those type of things.

I've been a member of WHT for a long time, though I am for the most part quiet I am not afraid to ask for help from this place. I've met some great people here and I couldnt' think of a better place to ask for advice!

My current requirements arent too big. We are an open source project, funded directly out of my pocket, we sell nothing, we do take donations and we typically cover our costs. We run a few game servers that require low latency bandwidth, but dont have to be the *best ever*, and house about 200 project websites. Probably only need a 30 block of IP's and we can get on our feet and going.

Any thoughts, insight, sugguestions would be more than appreciated.

Thanks!
    Regards,
    Ryan

Ryan,

You could try contacting Alex Carrol, with lifeline datacenters. They are in the Indy telecom area, over at 600 Kentucky, right downtown.

The person that owns LifeLine also owns the whole telecom complex, and rents the buildings to almost every major provider.