Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49

    Why is my Upstream bandwidth limited?

    hi all,

    I have a little problem with my server. I was trying to post a few binaries to usenet, using Newspost (http://newspost.unixcab.org). I noticed that while posting binaries, it seemed to be limited at 500KB/s. I contacted my newsservice provider and they said they do not limit posting speeds, so the problem is on my end somewhere.

    I am on a 100mbps server running fedora 3.
    I am using apf firewall and in iptables I have egress filtering disabled.

    what could possibly be limiting my posting speed?

  2. #2
    Try seeing what speed your network interface is caple of & running at with:
    sudo /sbin/mii-tool -v

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    capabilities: 100baseTx-FD 100baseTx-HD 10baseT-FD 10baseT-HD
    advertising: 100baseTx-FD 100baseTx-HD 10baseT-FD 10baseT-HD link partner: 100baseTx-FD 100baseTx-HD 10baseT-FD 10baseT-HD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    1,304
    500 KB/sec is a decent throughput. What's the latency and packet loss to the other end? In each direction, actually, if you can find out. The more loss or latency, the lower throughput you'll get from TCP.

    Kevin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    from server to newsserver:
    PING unlimited.newshosting.com (63.218.45.37) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 63.218.45.37: icmp_seq=0 ttl=55 time=41.5 ms
    64 bytes from 63.218.45.37: icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=41.9 ms
    64 bytes from 63.218.45.37: icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=41.7 ms
    64 bytes from 63.218.45.37: icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=41.5 ms

    --- unlimited.newshosting.com ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3010ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 41.539/41.714/41.995/0.271 ms, pipe 2

    my my connection to newsserver:
    Reply from 63.218.45.23: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=48
    Reply from 63.218.45.23: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=48
    Reply from 63.218.45.23: bytes=32 time=47ms TTL=48
    Reply from 63.218.45.23: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 63.218.45.23:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 44ms, Maximum = 47ms, Average = 45ms

    EDIT: Even before the ping i didn't think it had to do anything with latency or packet loss simply because it was hovering very consistently right around 500KB/s. The number 500 stands out to me as a number that quite possibly is set somewhere as a value of the max upstream on single port.
    Last edited by jonez; 05-26-2005 at 01:15 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Posts
    302
    What kind of bandwidth capacity does the newsgroup service have? What's between your server and them?
    If they have a slower net connection, you'll saturate theirs before you even come close to filling up the bandwidth of your hosting provider.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    245
    It sounds to me like the Usenet server (which often become bogged down anyway) is the limiting factor here. If you are continually getting 500Kb/s no matter when you try then there is most probably a connection cap somewhere in the chain.

    Stuart
    | BlueWave Communications Ltd - The Island's Communications Provider
    | URL: http://www.bwc.im/ AS: 201898
    | Jersey | Guernsey | Isle of Man

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    5,403
    Try uploading data someplace else see if it still hits the 500K/s cap, I'm betting you can go faster it's the other end that can't...
    Gary Harris - the artist formerly known as Dixiesys
    resident grumpy redneck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    hi,

    i've uploaded at over 30mbps to other places so I know i can go over 500KB/s.

    When I contacted them, they said that they do not limit their customer's posting speeds, and I've seen users on other sites who have posted with newshosting with speeds up to 3,000KB/s so I know they can support the bandwidth.

    I would suspect that it's being limited somewhere in between my server and the destination server if it weren't for the fact that is very consistently around 500KB/s, i think if there was some limit on the way, it wouldn't be a hard limit at 500KB/s.

    Does anyone know of a way to set Newspost to use 4 connections? I believe perhaps if I could use 4 connections i'm hoping it would make quite a difference ( 500 x 4 = 2000KB/s )

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,034
    if you are going over the atlantic then it will be 500kB per thread.
    Chris Collins
    Hostingfreak.net
    Directadmin Hosting in europe
    www.hostingfreak.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •