Which Switch for Web Servers?

I am new to IT infrastructures and need a little help in choosing a switch. I currently have a db and web server colocated. I got the providers feed connected to the web server, which in turn is connected to the db server on a separate NIC. We now need to add another web server and I am assuming the best solution is to bring a switch into the setup. We plan on growing up to no more than 12 web servers. We offer a hosting service and stream mp3s over http, so we'll possibly introduce a NAS later on (as a file server). Everything will be connected as a single private network.

From what I have learned by reading posts on this board related to switches, here is what I think I need:

* 16 Ports (to support the 12 web servers + db server + NAS)
    * 10/100 Mbps + 1 1000 (see below for comment)
    * Preferrably managed (unmanaged would work fine also? no real need for rate limiting, etc.?)
    * No need for Layer 3 (as im in a single network?)

The 12 web servers will be load balanced so they have an aggregate capacity of 1.2 Gbps. I would use the GE for the NAS to serve up the MP3 files to the 12 web servers.

The only other solution I can see is having my provider give me more connections on their switch. What is the most common and preferred approach? Getting more provider feeds or having your own switch?

Please let me know if this setup will work or if there are flaws. Switch recommendations would be appreciated also. Ignore price, I want something that will take care of above setup with a little bit of room for unexpected growth... nothing grossly beyond what I need. I will not have redundancy with the switch so reliability is important.

Many thanks!

I would set up a 48 port switch with 2 vlans, one for the top and one for the bottom row. The same would work for a 24 or 16 port switch too though. Getting more (12+) cables from your provider sounds a little messy, so i would go for your own switch.