rpc call failed system going to shutdown

i rented a dedicated server from a company and it had windows server 2003 standard installed on it without any service packs. I am new to servers so and i told the owner and he offered to help me out and told me to change the password and turn on the firewall and turn off telnet i think. Then I proceeded to start downloading the security updates for the computer like service pack 1 when the system shut down. I got the error Remote procedure call has failed your system will shut down in 60 seconds. He told me that that was normal cause i had part of what you need to do in a server setup is goto the rpc service and change all the recovery options for the service failure to Do nothing instead of reboot. So i set those to Do nothing after the server came back online and proceeded to install the service pack. When i rebooted the server it never came back up. This is strange apparently the server was on and there was a login screen on the box itself to login but no internet access. He said his techs looked at it and they needed to get a pro software guy look at it or do a reinstall. either way he said it would cost me between 69-99 dollars to do that because it is an unmanaged server. All i did was exactly what i listed above. step by step. I am just wondering if this is seems right to you. Its probably nothing but that remote procedure call issue bothers me. I dunno tell me what u think. Thanks alot

The RPC (Remote Procedure Call) is one of the biggest Windows
    vulnerabilities. It was used by many worms/trojans to gain access
    to a windows based system. The Service Packs did quite a job, in order to fix this problem.
    Apparently something like this has happened. It is not the only possible thing, but to me is the actual one.

There`s no way for windows hosting company staff not to know
    that Windows 2003 server,without service packs, and running on the Internet is just not right - obviously why.