Results 1 to 33 of 33
  1. #1

    A real n00bie here...

    Hi there everyone,
    I'm real new to most of this but am enjoying it immensely!
    My question is this: I have registered a domain name at ariadomain.com and am going to use their webhosting as well. I put in my request for web host activation 3 days ago and I still am not able to access the site. I have tried ftp but it cannot connect yet as well. I didn't think it took this long for the site/domain to become live. Is this normal?

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    propagation of a domain can take anywhere from 24-72 hours.
    Linux VPS Hosting
    Fully Managed VPS, Dedicated And Reseller Solutions.
    Host Unlimited Domains

  3. #3
    did you change the nameservers pointing to this host ?
    http://www.empresasdehosting.com
    THE WEB HOSTING INDEX IN SPANISH
    http://www.empresasdehosting.net
    THE WEB HOSTING DIRECTORY IN SPANISH

  4. #4
    Originally posted by onthespot
    propagation of a domain can take anywhere from 24-72 hours.
    It has been 72 hours on my end but I suppose if they are in a different time zone or country this could be the problem.

  5. #5
    Originally posted by empresasdehosting
    did you change the nameservers pointing to this host ?
    I am one dumb n000bie!

    I'm not sure what you mean by nameservers pointing to this host. If it isn't too much trouble can you explain this or point me to a guide/faq?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Downers Grove, IL
    Posts
    174
    flowrider:

    Did you receive a "welcome" email from ariadomains.com for their hosting service?

    I'm not sure what you mean by nameservers pointing to this host.
    Your domain has to have at least 2 name servers configured for it. The name servers are provided by your hosting company, and they're typically called something like: ns1.ariadomains.com, ns2.ariadomains.com, etc. The name servers help a client determine your host's IP address given your domain name. If you bought the domain name and the hosting from the same company, at the same time, this should have been done for you.

    BTW, what is your domain name?
    SolidState - Open Source Billing Solution for Web Hosts

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    1,428
    Flowrider,

    Have you contacted the host for help?

    Also, what is your domain name so we can do a WHOIS on it and see the nameservers. That may help us to help you.

    First though, email support at ariadomain and ask for assistance.

    - HostNexus Mike
    ||| Mike Bowers - Marketing Director
    ||| atOmicVPS LTD
    ||| OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting ► [Shared] ► [Reseller] ► [VPS]
    ||| Follow the atOmicVPS Blog

  8. #8
    Originally posted by colklink
    flowrider:

    Did you receive a "welcome" email from ariadomains.com for their hosting service?



    Your domain has to have at least 2 name servers configured for it. The name servers are provided by your hosting company, and they're typically called something like: ns1.ariadomains.com, ns2.ariadomains.com, etc. The name servers help a client determine your host's IP address given your domain name. If you bought the domain name and the hosting from the same company, at the same time, this should have been done for you.

    BTW, what is your domain name?
    This is the message I got. My domain is flowryder_dot_com
    I appreciate the help.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Originally posted by HostNexus Mike
    Flowrider,

    Have you contacted the host for help?

    Also, what is your domain name so we can do a WHOIS on it and see the nameservers. That may help us to help you.

    First though, email support at ariadomain and ask for assistance.

    - HostNexus Mike
    Hi Mike.
    thanks. My domain is flowryder.com and I have one open ticket with aria but so far no response. I sent is yesterday.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Downers Grove, IL
    Posts
    174
    Your domain is pointing at their nameservers, ns2 and ns3.ariadomain.com, but it appears that they haven't configured them for your domain yet.
    SolidState - Open Source Billing Solution for Web Hosts

  11. #11
    So I guess that I'm just impatient then? With the speed of the net you would think that these things happen in real time.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Downers Grove, IL
    Posts
    174
    So I guess that I'm just impatient then?
    No. The welcome email said 24 hours. Keep bugging their support, this should be fixed quickly.
    SolidState - Open Source Billing Solution for Web Hosts

  13. #13
    I just added a reply to the initial ticket. I'm hoping for a reply sooner rather than later.

    Thanks for the help everyone. I was worried that it was something I was missing on my end.

  14. #14
    I have an open ticket STILL!!! It's been 6 days and still no reply at all. I have since registered another domain and gotten hosting from 123EZ Hosting. All said and done it too all of 30minutes to be up and running with them. As soon as I can I'm moving my domains from Aria.

  15. #15
    I guess it is time to switch host ;-)
    Dualnic.com | Connectivity. Stability. Reliability.
    Web Hosting & Reselling Since 2003
    "Our pricing may not beat the industry giants, but our service will"

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    1,203
    Originally posted by flowrider
    I have an open ticket STILL!!! It's been 6 days and still no reply at all. I have since registered another domain and gotten hosting from 123EZ Hosting. All said and done it too all of 30minutes to be up and running with them. As soon as I can I'm moving my domains from Aria.
    How many tickets do you have in there? If only one, try sending another. At the bottom, attach a little message like "Also I've been waiting for almost a week on a response to ticket numbe XXX-YYY-ZZZZ" etc. That may get you a little push on the situation.
    Automated Tendencies - Brand Management Agency from Baltimore, Maryland.
    Reputation Management Search Engine Optimization Pay Per Click Email Marketing

  17. #17
    Originally posted by RefreshNet
    How many tickets do you have in there? If only one, try sending another. At the bottom, attach a little message like "Also I've been waiting for almost a week on a response to ticket numbe XXX-YYY-ZZZZ" etc. That may get you a little push on the situation.
    That's a good idea. I only have one ticket open as we speak. I'll try that and let you know if it helps.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    1,428
    Ask for a refund and move on maybe? Just a thought.

    - HN Mike
    ||| Mike Bowers - Marketing Director
    ||| atOmicVPS LTD
    ||| OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting ► [Shared] ► [Reseller] ► [VPS]
    ||| Follow the atOmicVPS Blog

  19. #19
    Get a refund and move on. If they are unable to deliver what they guarantee now, how can you trust them in the future.

  20. #20
    I have just emailed them requesting a refund. Hopefully they'll respond to that one.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    271
    Hello.

    Actually, you seem to be a very patient person. I would love having a customer as patient as you. But, this much patience should not be required. Though it takes the domain approximately 24-72 hours to propagate, setting up the account should be immediate (if not within 24 hours).

    I don't mean to say that the hosting provider you are dealing with is "bad," but perhaps you may want to go ahead and move on (stick to a different host) even if this host gets your account working.

    Just my 2 cents.

    Regards,
    Zeniors.com

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,128
    Just to let those know who said propagation takes 24-72 hours, it now actually takes only several minutes in most cases, due to the rapid DNS update back in September of last year. I know this is true at least for all TLDs under control by Verisign, and since your domain is a dot com (which Verisign controls), propagation should be near instant.
    Daily Updated Web Hosting News Blog
    Including an RSS feed that you can syndicate!
    Daily Updated Web Hosting News Blog
    Unlimited vs. Unmetered bandwidth

  23. #23
    Hmmm. Like I said in a previous post, I'm now using 123EZ Hosting out of Kelowna, BC, Canada. They are somewhat local in that they're in Canada and I registered another domain with them as well. What I would like is for the domains that I registered with Aria to be transfered to 123 if that's possible before 6 months. If I get a refund from Aria (still no reply and I'm not hopeful) will the domains that I registered go back into the pool? If they do I would like to reregister them through 123EZ Hosting.

    123 EZ hosting has been a revelation compared to Aria. Every email and ticket has been dealt with promptly even over the long week with a Statutory holiday we had here recently. Great people there!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    271
    Hello.

    Yes domain propagation does take a mere minutes now. However, I prefer to say "24-72 hours" simply to stay on the safe side. Sometimes it can simply be a surfer's cache that will trick them into believing that the domain has not yet propgated.

    Because Aria has already registered the domain, you will have to transfer it to another domain registrar. Many registrars offer a free year if you transfer your domain so you may want to consider checking that out.

    I doubt that there is such a thing as a refund on a domain purchase. (honestly, I wouldn't know..just a guess)

    It seems ridiculous that you have yet to receive a response from Aria. You may want to just disregard the concept of a refund for now and focus on simply getting your domain transferred to a more reliable registrar.

    Once again, just my 2 cents.

    Regards,
    Zeniors.com

  25. #25
    Zenoirs,
    I have given up completely on Aria. I don't think they could get any worse for sure. I'm such a n00b that I'm not even sure how to transfer my domain to another carrier. Is that when I change my DNS settings? Sorry for being so ignorant but I'm learning!!

  26. #26
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    1,428
    Originally posted by HostingInsider
    Just to let those know who said propagation takes 24-72 hours, it now actually takes only several minutes in most cases, due to the rapid DNS update back in September of last year. I know this is true at least for all TLDs under control by Verisign, and since your domain is a dot com (which Verisign controls), propagation should be near instant.
    This is only true to an extent. Many UK backbones still take days to update. Spain is the worst - up to 5 days depending on where you fit into thier cycle. It is the backbone databases that really count when speaking of propogation or resolving. If the backbone you are connected to, say Spain, only updates their database once a week, it doesn't matter how fast Verisign propogates the TLD - it will still take several days for you to see your site in say, Spain (I am not picking on Spain, it is just one of many that do not update thier backbones at least once a day).

    - HN Mike
    ||| Mike Bowers - Marketing Director
    ||| atOmicVPS LTD
    ||| OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting ► [Shared] ► [Reseller] ► [VPS]
    ||| Follow the atOmicVPS Blog

  27. #27
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    1,428
    FlowRider,

    Tell us your domains that you registered at Aria, and we can look them up to see what condition they are in. Then we can answer you as to the transfer.

    - HN Mike
    ||| Mike Bowers - Marketing Director
    ||| atOmicVPS LTD
    ||| OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting ► [Shared] ► [Reseller] ► [VPS]
    ||| Follow the atOmicVPS Blog

  28. #28
    Originally posted by HostNexus Mike
    FlowRider,

    Tell us your domains that you registered at Aria, and we can look them up to see what condition they are in. Then we can answer you as to the transfer.

    - HN Mike
    Mike,
    I've registered the following domains

    flowryder.com
    and
    sloweracing.ca

    Thanks for any help you can give

  29. #29
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    1,428
    FlowRider,

    Good news if your name is Stephen?

    You are the registered owner of the names in question. Aria is a reseller for PlanetDomain.com. All you have to do is change your nameserver info with PlanetDomain.com to your new hosts nameservers. They would have sent you this info in a welcome email of some sort. ns.something.com, ns2.something.com, or something similar.

    Just go to planetdomain.com and request to have them updated. You may need to email them or telephone them and explain your situation as it does not sound like Aria gave you domain manager login rights.

    Let me know how you make out!

    - HN Mike
    ||| Mike Bowers - Marketing Director
    ||| atOmicVPS LTD
    ||| OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting ► [Shared] ► [Reseller] ► [VPS]
    ||| Follow the atOmicVPS Blog

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    271
    Originally posted by flowrider
    Zenoirs,
    I have given up completely on Aria. I don't think they could get any worse for sure. I'm such a n00b that I'm not even sure how to transfer my domain to another carrier. Is that when I change my DNS settings? Sorry for being so ignorant but I'm learning!!
    Hello.

    By no means are you allowed (who died and made me in charge?) to call yourself "ignorant." You are learning and just because you are entering a new field does not make you ignorant buddy.

    Seriously, just hang in there. Good luck bro.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    95
    Yeah - I agree, don't beat yourself up!

    You registered your domain at Aria, and bought hosting with them too. Now, since they are acting as your registrar (company that registers your domain into the world wide Domain Name System for you) and your host too, they have control over all aspects of your domain.The hosting isn't working, but the domain is active, and legally yours. They should (but may not) have given you access to make changes yourself (on request?).

    The top level of change you can make is to change your registrar. However, since you just registered your domains, that is unfortunately impossible. It's registered now, at least until the date shown in whois (see, for example, the expiry date on http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=flowryder.com) and does not go back into the pool before that date. There is a 60 day wait to change registrar after first registration, in ICANN regulations - that is not Aria's "fault". You can probably change registrar after that time. (see bottom of post).
    The next level is changing the nameservers (DNS servers) associated with that domain. This is what makes it possible to place your site at another host/get email working, etc. within those 60 days. If you don't have access to change nameservers, you will need Aria to do this for you, or ask PlanetDomain.com, but be aware that the latter may need a fair bit of proof that you are in fact the owner of the domain. It's an easy change, and should not take long to do, although I am not sure of propogation time on .ca domains.

    When the right nameservers (DNS servers) are selected at the registrar level, then requests for your domain like someone pointing their browser to it query those nameservers, which in turn tell them where the site is (with DNS records). That whole issue is complicated and is what your new host will sort out. So all you need is to change is the nameservers, and when you can, change registrar if you feel you don't want Aria to fill that role.

    I said minimum 60 days - those are the regs, but your TOS with Aria may say that there's a minimum of a year with them (as a registrar), especially if your domain name was in a bundle with your hosting. They should still change nameservers within that time if you don't want to use their hosting, though.


    Hope the explanation helps, and I don't mean to sound negative! You can get all up and running very quickly if all goes well!

    Olly
    Last edited by IgnisNetworks; 05-26-2005 at 04:51 PM.

  32. #32
    **************Update********

    Well I finally got a response from "someone" and not surprisingly it wasn't from anyone at Ariadomains. Thanks to the advice of the people here I emailed Planet Domain as well. They were much quicker and have offered to move me to another of their resellers! Here is the email that I got:

    Hosting help with Ariadomains

    Steve,

    Thankyou for your enquiry.
    Although PlanetDomain register and support domains registered by our reseller Aria Domain, their hosting services are supplied independently. We are sorry to hear you have been unhappy with their performance.

    We would like to invite you to move your domains to another reseller of ours who also offer free hosting services.
    http://www.ezyregistrations.com
    If you would like we would be happy to transfer your domains to this reseller and organise a complimentary hosting account.

    Please let us know if you would like to go ahead and we will make the necessary arrangements.

    Regards,
    Robyn
    PlanetDomain-Helpdesk

  33. #33
    Oh in the meantime while waiting for Aria the website that I created and hosted with 123EZ Hosting is finally up and running! The homepage isn't great yet but the forum is just up. Had a lot of fun setting up the phpBB2 forum software. And free too!

    Have a look and tell me what you think for a first effort!
    www.twowheeljunkie.com
    Yes it's work safe!
    Miniracing forums at www.twowheeljunkie.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •