Question Live Streaming Audio

I'm new to the streaming audio world...

I'm looking into setting up a live-to-web streaming audio capable website. I would like the server to play what's on right now (like turning on your radio to see what's airing right now), with the ability to play/stream archived files.

What I need to know:

1) What kinds of software, if any, are required? What is the best software and why?

2) Presuming the server is at a separate location from the audio source, what sort of requirements are needed at the source end?

3) What is a good hosting company to host the site?

4) What should a streaming audio newbie know?

Thanks,

-- Jonathan
    Jonathan Opie, Jonathan Opie Web Design
    [jonathanopie.com]

Check shoutcast streaming server

you can use server matrix 20Mbps Unmetered server for host your stream

shoutcast do not eat your mem & cpu
    ComCities.Com| provide hosting solutions Since 2002
    FLV Enable Icecast Hosting | Shoutcast Hosting | Mobile Streaming | Live TV Streaming | Live Radio Streaming
    CPanel Hosting Solutions | Dedicated Servers | Wowza Media Dedicated Servers | CDN Solutions

"4) What should a streaming audio newbie know?"

"BANDWIDTH"
    ComCities.Com| provide hosting solutions Since 2002
    FLV Enable Icecast Hosting | Shoutcast Hosting | Mobile Streaming | Live TV Streaming | Live Radio Streaming
    CPanel Hosting Solutions | Dedicated Servers | Wowza Media Dedicated Servers | CDN Solutions

Jonathan,

1) What kinds of software, if any, are required? What is the best software and why? I would recommend using shoutcast on the server end - and sam (spacial audio manager) available at spacialaudio.com

The software "made" the market - shoutcast was one of the first streaming applications available, spacialaudio built their entire operation on shoutcast.