Is this an OK way to organize my site files?

I'm building a site that is likely to adopt an encyclopedic format. The number of entries could grow to quite a large number, which is why I'd like to get the design right early on...

Basically, I was thinking of organizing the entries in the following directory structure:

Encyclopedia (folder)
    --Entry A (folder)

The idea behind this is that every single folder has exactly the same filenames, which makes linking to them from a template much simpler. Of course, the downside is that, if the directory structure was removed, I'd be totally screwed... that is, X files called intro.htm, X files called anothersection.htm, and so on.

Is there a better way to design the site file hierarchy, to prevent headaches further down the line? Perhaps it would be advisable to name each file in a folder $filename_EntryX.htm instead, and then have the template link to $filename*.htm (sorry, I am very new to website publishing - is there such a thing as partial linking in straight HTML)? Thanks in advance for your help!

Northwest Colorado
    I think your best solution would be to use wiki software, a type of CMS which is particularly well-suited to encyclopedia-type sites, such as wikipedia uses. You'll have all the templating issues you bring up handled for you, plus a revision control system if you want one.

I highly recommend PmWiki but there are a large number you can choose from:
    Eric J. Bowman, principal
    Bison Systems Corporation coming soon: a new sig!
    I'm just a poor, unfrozen caveman Webmaster. Your new 'standards' frighten, and confuse me...

Thing is, while the site is going to be structured somewhat like an encyclopedia, that's more or less where the similarity ends. If at all possible, I'd like to complete the construction without the use of third-party templates. So far, so good (despite the newbie questions ). If you wouldn't mind, what are your opinions on the following: