Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 109
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    4,377

    Is WHT slower?

    Has WHT been slower the past 2 days..... or is it just me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,033
    Not just you, because it has been happening to me as well. Some times it will take a few seconds to load and other times it will take 30 seconds to load if not longer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    724
    been loading fine for me.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,201
    Most of the time it loads instantly but sometimes it takes about 30 - 60 seconds to load the page. I really dont know why.
    edit: it took 34.3 seconds for that post to be posted.
    My Blog - www.Bakie.net
    My Entertainment site - www.SpudMud.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    1,543
    hmmm I haven't had any problems so far..hope it stays that way
    * Losers make excuses - winners make it happen *
    The only way to discover the limits of the possibilities is to go beyond them into the impossible.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    233
    I've had problems from multiple computers with different connections for the past few weeks. At times, there is a noticeable slowdown in submitting actual posts.
    IceStorm.com - Top Provider of Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting, and Cloud VPS Plans.
    Why IceStorm? Two Words: Proven Reliability.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    rules.php
    Posts
    725
    sometimes it loads slow to.. but today its ok
    www.DefyStudios.com ___Interactive Design
    Icq:307-407-835 DefyStudios | Shift | INDNJC

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,033

    WHT slowing down, and database errors?

    Just decided to post here that getting database errors and WHT slowing down again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Albany, New York
    Posts
    2,988
    Slow for me also.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    3,262
    Slow for me also. Ever since they started having those problems about a week ago.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    2,752
    no. it has been boring the past 2 days instead of slowing.
    I'm Zafar Ahmed.
    I provide
    SEO Services & eMarketing consultancy
    I'll be glad to hear from you

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Online
    Posts
    1,543
    lol D1iesel, would you cut this "boring" talk some slack

    I've made about 7 posts now, all come up within 5 secs or so..
    * Losers make excuses - winners make it happen *
    The only way to discover the limits of the possibilities is to go beyond them into the impossible.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    2,585
    Oh yea.. very very slow for me.. and sometimes I get a brief mysql error. When I hit the back button and submit a reply again.. it usually goes.. but takes anywhere from 10 - 30 seconds.
    www.JGRoboMarketing.com / We Filter out the Bad Leads and Send you the Good ones!
    █ Office: (800) 959-0182 / Automated Lead Funnel Service

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,139
    It takes a bit longer lately especially after they changed the wht_lite skin. This one seems to load rediculously slower on my machines.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2,852
    Loading slower for me.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    374
    It loads slowly sporadically on this end. Normally pages are up instantaneously, but occasionally, I have to keep refreshing.
    TS-Host, A Tulip Company - Hosting since 1995! - AS7219
    Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, Bargain Dedicated Servers and High performance Dedicated!
    http://www.ts-host.com/ -@- [email protected] -@- 1-800-977-TOWN

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Reading, England
    Posts
    4,243
    I've noticed problems. Some times it doesn't want to load at all, other times it's just slow.
    Steve

  18. #18
    It does seem to be a bit slower.
    Max Wilson

  19. #19
    It has been very, very slow for me ever since Jeremy left. Whowever is managing the servers appears to not be doing a stellar job IMHO.

    Not many errors, just over all lousy performance.
    Don't you walk thru my words
    You got to show some respect
    Don't you walk thru my words
    'Cause you ain't heard me out yet

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    9,037
    Very lousy performance. Sometimes when you type your reply and hit reply it takes upto a minute before its added and the page is reloaded.

    Ive also seen 2 database error pages so far today...

    ... Maybe iNET should put WHT back on an EV1 cluster
    Matt Wallis
    United Communications Limited
    High Performance Shared & Reseller | Managed VPS Cloud | Managed Dedicated
    UK www.unitedhosting.co.uk | US www.unitedhosting.com | Since 1998.

  21. #21
    I wonder how many gigs of bandwidth these forums use every month?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    979
    Originally posted by Vancouverdude
    I wonder how many gigs of bandwidth these forums use every month?
    Less than a terabyte, but more than 100gb. I can't be any more precise than that anymore.

    On a side note, it's been pretty slow today here too (here being Venice).
    Jeremy Johnstone
    Personal Blog: http://www.jeremyjohnstone.com/blog

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    chica go go
    Posts
    11,858
    I've seen slow post times.

    I've heard from a few people that the normal wht v3 skin is alot slower than the wht lite skin.

    Both of the skins are ugly if you ask me, and the html used is just awful.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    The Home Of The Simpsons
    Posts
    982
    Ive noticed the slow post times also.
    Dana aka Laci My Alter Ego
    Former WHT Moderator

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Here?
    Posts
    2,560
    Very slow for me right now.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Under the sea
    Posts
    4,208
    Slow for me as well..maybe they should hire Jeremy for some consulting services?

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,342

    Red face

    Originally posted by Jeremy Johnstone
    Less than a terabyte, but more than 100gb. I can't be any more precise than that anymore.

    On a side note, it's been pretty slow today here too (here being Venice).
    How did you come up with such assumption... Don't you think its a bit overated?

    Its only slow for me at peak times or sometimes when I submit a reply (makes me think someone else is manually reviewing my replies )..

    Peace,
    Testing 1.. Testing 1..2.. Testing 1..2..3...

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    here
    Posts
    1,568
    Im glad I seen this thread because I was going to start one of the same topic. It really bothers me when I try searching for a domain to buy or searching for link trades and the search times out. Does it with IE on windows and Firefox in linux. So I know its not just me. Besides the timeouts I have also noticed its getting much slower. Time for WHT to move on to its own cluster?


    Up in the clouds DavidL thinks Dual Quad Xeon Servers with 8 Gig of ram.
    Dave

  29. #29
    same here, took over a minute to be able to reply to this thread

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,194
    Methinks it's spyware.


    I've had the same problem for a while.

    Very frustrating.

    But, has anybody noticed besides me that the Sygate Firewall icon on the task bar lights up while you're waiting for your desired page to load? Seems like something in the background is trying to access the internet while interrupting your browsing.

    There is some spyware that is hard to catch/find by the standard spyware/adware killers.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    3,046
    I've also noticed a slow down.

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Let's see.....
    Posts
    4,446
    Darn gerbils are wearing out again...
    73's, Kim
    Everything happens for a reason I make up.

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    5,283
    Originally posted by UH-Matt
    ... Maybe iNET should put WHT back on an EV1 cluster
    Then WHT will be going down during attacks, which are, as far as I know, are managed by RackSpace quite well through some kind of magic...
    Hosting Discussion - web hosting community.

    Is your company represented?

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    979
    Originally posted by azizny
    How did you come up with such assumption... Don't you think its a bit overated?
    Not an assumption. I used to see the raw stats, but as traffic has increased since then I can safely say they are inside that rough window. Even if I did know exact figures currently, I wouldn't be allowed to say, so the point of it being based on old information is moot anyway.
    Jeremy Johnstone
    Personal Blog: http://www.jeremyjohnstone.com/blog

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    24,009
    Originally posted by Artashes
    Then WHT will be going down during attacks, which are, as far as I know, are managed by RackSpace quite well through some kind of magic...
    I'm not certian of the hardware setup WHT is now on, but I think it's a long way ahead of where it was, with ev1. There was a post somewhere where INET went into the detail of their rackspace setup, where their properties reside. It was very impresive to say the least.
    AussieHost.com Aussie Bob, host since 2001
    Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!!

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    34,797
    All seems fine now, I haven't had a DB error in a while and I can close and split threads real quick A while back two replied while I was trying to close

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Posts
    979
    Originally posted by Aussie Bob
    I'm not certian of the hardware setup WHT is now on, but I think it's a long way ahead of where it was, with ev1. There was a post somewhere where INET went into the detail of their rackspace setup, where their properties reside. It was very impresive to say the least.
    It's changed quite a bit since that post a long time ago (for the better), but they aren't publicly disclosing details on the setup anymore (security reasons).
    Jeremy Johnstone
    Personal Blog: http://www.jeremyjohnstone.com/blog

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    367
    There seems to have been a slight problem with the WebHostingTalk Forums database.
    Please try again by pressing the refresh button in your browser.
    An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, who you can also contact if the problem persists.

    We apologise for any inconvenience.

    HTTP/1.1 200 OK Date: Thu, 12 May 2005 17:43:03 GMT Server: Apache/1.3.33 Ben-SSL/1.55 (Unix) PHP/4.3.10 X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.10 Set-Cookie: bbthreadview=a%3A21%3A%7Bi%3A404191%3Bi%3A1115912056%3Bi%3A404227%3Bi%3A1115912205%3Bi%3A404219%3Bi%3A1115912411%3Bi%3A404197%3Bi%3A1115912469%3Bi%3A4 03853%3Bi%3A1115912499%3Bi%3A404303%3Bi%3A1115912640%3Bi%3A403162%3Bi%3A1115912731%3Bi%3A404170%3Bi%3A1115912892%3Bi%3A404281%3Bi%3A1115913094%3Bi%3A4 04032%3Bi%3A1115913285%3Bi%3A403751%3Bi%3A1115913343%3Bi%3A403832%3Bi%3A1115913471%3Bi%3A404324%3Bi%3A1115917739%3Bi%3A404315%3Bi%3A1115918441%3Bi%3A4 04278%3Bi%3A1115919247%3Bi%3A404340%3Bi%3A1115919290%3Bi%3A402936%3Bi%3A1115919459%3Bi%3A402796%3Bi%3A1115919521%3Bi%3A404136%3Bi%3A1115919603%3Bi%3A4 04211%3Bi%3A1115919726%3Bi%3A404002%3Bi%3A1115919784%3B%7D; path=/; domain=.webhostingtalk.com Content-Length: 65557 Keep-Alive: timeout=15, max=99 Connection: Keep-Alive Content-Type: text/html

    Still getting random errors

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    492
    No errors here this evening but she does appear to be slow

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,194
    "connecting to rotator.juggler.inetinteractive"

    That status line message took 20 seconds before it disappeared.


    Could it be that the rotator ads are taking too long to load before the rest of the page paints?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •