Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    133

    Need unmettered server

    Hi,

    I'm currently have server on THE PLANET network (unmettered) but last few days they shut my server down cuz the claim on my server has so much Ddos attack caused the whole network frozen. They just put it back online and threaten me if it happend again, they will take down for good.
    So I am looking for one right now with in 10days ... My next billing cycle is gonna be on 25 of May. if anyone have any suggestion please lead me to.
    send my an email to [email protected] or PM msg from here

    thanks
    It's just the same like last time!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    868

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    669
    i thought the planet had ddos protection. If you get lot of ddos i recommend staminus/blacklotus unmeter server
    Server4Sale
    Dirt CHEAP Servers coming soon

  4. #4
    Originally posted by server4sale
    i thought the planet had ddos protection
    They do. Its just that he's at ServerMatrix, and on an unmetered line

  5. #5
    If the server is unmettered (and thus capped to xx mbit), its none of the data centres concern if he got ddosed, the 10mbit or w/e should have been set aside for that server alone, and can be used in any form of traffic really. The only thing they should do is try to prevent further ddos not tell customer "stop getting ddosed as our network cant handle the package we sold you".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,029

  7. #7
    Originally posted by BSD2
    If the server is unmettered (and thus capped to xx mbit), its none of the data centres concern if he got ddosed, the 10mbit or w/e should have been set aside for that server alone, and can be used in any form of traffic really. The only thing they should do is try to prevent further ddos not tell customer "stop getting ddosed as our network cant handle the package we sold you".
    Yes it still is their problem - remember that the metering is done on their network, and DDoSes frequently involve more incoming traffic than the unmetered line can handle, and as you might guess, overwhelms routers at the ISP. It is very much their concern.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    133
    yeah... that's rite .. when I purchase the server they stated all their server has ddos protection and just recently, they shut down my server because of too much ddos.
    if anyone know any other place have good ddos protection please let me know.
    thaks
    It's just the same like last time!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    296
    Staminus has very good ddos protection.

  10. #10
    Originally posted by kernelpanic
    Yes it still is their problem - remember that the metering is done on their network, and DDoSes frequently involve more incoming traffic than the unmetered line can handle, and as you might guess, overwhelms routers at the ISP. It is very much their concern.
    Still, if its on 10mbit port, they have no right to go "suspend" the customer for ddos, as the customer is entitled to use the 10mbit to the full, and if the hardware cant handle it its not the customers fault (ddos customer suspension is usually on emtered lines to prevent the isp paying extra for bw, but here the bw is fully paid by customer).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    337
    Originally posted by BSD2
    Still, if its on 10mbit port, they have no right to go "suspend" the customer for ddos, as the customer is entitled to use the 10mbit to the full, and if the hardware cant handle it its not the customers fault (ddos customer suspension is usually on emtered lines to prevent the isp paying extra for bw, but here the bw is fully paid by customer).
    most attacks are not just 10Mbit. If its a larger attack its going to start clogging up the switches etc but only let 10 to his server. This would backlog the routers etc causing problems for everyone.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Just like mooecow said, they are not suspending him for using up his traffic, they are suspending him for effecting the whole network. I would hate to be on the same segment as that machine if a 666Mbit attack came down the line...
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    337
    Originally posted by justadollarhostin
    Just like mooecow said, they are not suspending him for using up his traffic, they are suspending him for effecting the whole network. I would hate to be on the same segment as that machine if a 666Mbit attack came down the line...
    your Mbit works great for this thread.

  14. #14
    Originally posted by Mooecow
    This would backlog the routers etc causing problems for everyone.
    Afaik latest routers have ability to "drop" (ie get rid of) any data over a certain limit, thus if the router has to process more data than the 10 that it can, that data is simply ignored, thus no backlog.

    anyway, this isnt helping the original question by that bloke, so lets get back ontopic

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,834

    Re: Need unmettered server

    Originally posted by vietkool
    Hi,

    I'm currently have server on THE PLANET network (unmettered) but last few days they shut my server down cuz the claim on my server has so much Ddos attack caused the whole network frozen. They just put it back online and threaten me if it happend again, they will take down for good.
    So I am looking for one right now with in 10days ... My next billing cycle is gonna be on 25 of May. if anyone have any suggestion please lead me to.
    send my an email to [email protected] or PM msg from here

    thanks
    Herpes patient!
    Ray Womack @ atOmicVPS LTD
    Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting Solutions Powered by OnApp
    Fully Managed [Shared][Reseller][Cloud VPS] [Dedicated]
    Featuring the atOmicSTACK ● Speed ● Performance ● Reliability

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Originally posted by BSD2
    Afaik latest routers have ability to "drop" (ie get rid of) any data over a certain limit, thus if the router has to process more data than the 10 that it can, that data is simply ignored, thus no backlog.

    anyway, this isnt helping the original question by that bloke, so lets get back ontopic
    What if the data that they are going to "drop" is the data that is a legit request for your webpage or a file?
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  17. #17
    as i said, it only kicks in once over a certain amount is being processed, thus no backlog just limits it to 10mbit (hell, you can set it to 15 or w/e so that any major ddos of 100+mbit is droppeD).

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    How does the router decide which packets to drop and which packets to accept in this 10mbit limit?

    *edit* not trying to start a big argument or tangent or anything, im not any router guru so I am asking out of curiousity
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    5,512
    Originally posted by justadollarhostin
    How does the router decide which packets to drop and which packets to accept in this 10mbit limit?
    QoS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •