Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419

    adobe reader problems

    any one else run into problems with adobe 7.0 on windows 2000 sp4?

    I cant find an option to download for sp4 - only up to sp2 and the reader wont start up - it just sits there using 95% of cpu resource for about 20 minutes before it decides to finally open the window.

    thoughts??
    Dedicated Servers
    WWW.NETDEPOT.COM
    Since 2000

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,271
    Sailor,

    Try updating your adobe first to the newest version.

    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=2712

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419
    Originally posted by blockcipher
    Sailor,

    Try updating your adobe first to the newest version.

    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=2712
    same thing. still sucks
    Dedicated Servers
    WWW.NETDEPOT.COM
    Since 2000

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,271
    What process is taking up all your CPU, in task manager?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419
    AcroRd32.exe

    it opens a seperate instance everytime I click on a file and does not close them - so it will have x number of them running with 0 cpu and 1 running with 95%.
    Dedicated Servers
    WWW.NETDEPOT.COM
    Since 2000

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,271
    Did you upgrade from a previous version? AcroRd32.exe is the old exe for past versions. 7 is now just "Acrobat.exe". I would remove it completely and previous version then reload.

    You can also try "Acrobat Reader Speedup" http://www.tnk-bootblock.co.uk/prods/misc/index.php

    before do the above.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419
    Originally posted by blockcipher
    Did you upgrade from a previous version? AcroRd32.exe is the old exe for past versions. 7 is now just "Acrobat.exe". I would remove it completely and previous version then reload.

    You can also try "Acrobat Reader Speedup" http://www.tnk-bootblock.co.uk/prods/misc/index.php

    before do the above.
    I jsut figured it out.

    See here: http://torque.oncloud8.com/archives/000151.html

    Acrobat ends up with 65,535 Acrxxxx.tmp files in your temporary directory and loses its mind:
    Documents and Settings\[user profile]\Local Settings\Temp

    I deleted the temp files and it works fine now. Must be some bug with acrobat causing it...


    I am deleting the files - it had 65539 temp acr files in it. this is definately a acrobat bug.

    it appears it is not cleaning up its temp files.
    Dedicated Servers
    WWW.NETDEPOT.COM
    Since 2000

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,271
    I have yet to run into that and here at work people use Acrobat all day! Thanks for the heads up on that and I'm glad it was easy to fix. I know I have ran into problems like this and its been because of past version leaving junk.

    Good job

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,419
    Originally posted by blockcipher
    I have yet to run into that and here at work people use Acrobat all day! Thanks for the heads up on that and I'm glad it was easy to fix. I know I have ran into problems like this and its been because of past version leaving junk.

    Good job


    works like a champ now/
    Dedicated Servers
    WWW.NETDEPOT.COM
    Since 2000

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •