Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49

    Very high serverload

    I'm having problems with my server load which is very high at non regular times.

    Every time it goes above 6 I log a dump of top, ps aux and apache status into a file. And when it goes above 10 it restarts apache.

    Today (may 9th) my server load was very high for a long time. Can someone take a log at these log and tel mee whats wrong. And how it can be solved.

    All these log are located at joskeonline.com/loadspikes/

    I noticed that kjoeunald has used a lot op cpu time and using 10% cpu all the time, antidos is using 10% at some moments.

    And how can I prevent one user to use almost all my cpu power.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    logs are located here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    It appears that heavy traffic is the cause of your high server load. You are doing 15GB per hour according to the logs. Might want to look into upgrading the RAM and/or CPU.

    Cheers
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    70
    Just curious, are these generic scripts you used that you can share? I would like to set this up on my server.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    I wrote it myself. Feel free to use it too.

    Code:
    load=$(uptime | awk '{print $11}' | sed 's/\...,//g')
    echo $load
    if [ $load -gt 5 ]
    then
            echo "!!!Load to high!!!"
            cd /root/loadcheck.d
            file=$(date | sed -e 's/ /_/g')
            echo "----------- top output -----------" >> $file
            top -b -n 1  >> $file
            echo "--------- ps -aux output ---------" >> $file
            ps aux >> $file
            echo "------ server-starus output ------" >> $file
            lynx 127.0.0.1/whm-server-status -dump >> $file
            cd ..
            if [ $load -gt 9 ]
            then
                    /etc/init.d/httpd stop
                    /etc/init.d/httpd startssl
            fi
    else
            echo "Load OK"
    fi
    Last edited by MrAlien987; 05-09-2005 at 05:10 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    I have 300Gb trafic /month

    Thus 15gb per hour seems to be more likely the consequence of an error and not the cause.

    I have had very high loads before because a php script failture of one site on my server.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,109
    Adding more RAM is a good suggestion as using only 1 GB of RAM just doesn't cut these days.

    You can ignore the 15 GB of traffic per hour msg. as that is an obvious error -- approx. 378 MB per hour is more like it. That is approx. 272 GB per month which is more in line.

    As to the problem of the high load, it would seem you just have a busy Server, as evidenced by the continously high Apache connections. I would suggest you optimize Apache and possibly setup a script to limit the number of Apache connections from any one IP address.

    Seen a post here at WHT discussing IP connection limits and if you search using "ip_conn" or something similar, you should find something.
    PotentProducts.com - for all your Hosting needs
    Helping people Host, Create and Maintain their Web Site
    ServerAdmin Services also available

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,845
    use mod_dosevasive , as well as turn off keepalives and turn your Timeouts to 100, from 300.

    keep your connects at 150 if possible, this will keep apache from going nuts

    Also look into the LimitCPU calls, which stop run away processes
    BuyVM - OpenVZ & KVM Based VPS Servers - Chat with us
    - All popular VPN methods supported
    - Affordable offloaded MySQL & DDoS protection
    - 5GB backup space, unmetered private LAN bandwidth & native IPv6 included. All with a strong serving of pony

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,109
    MrAlien987, I noticed you are running 'mod_perl' and meant to ask how you got it installed. Was it manually or through EasyApache -- and if EasyApache, was it through WHM or Shell?
    PotentProducts.com - for all your Hosting needs
    Helping people Host, Create and Maintain their Web Site
    ServerAdmin Services also available

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    Originally posted by Website Rob
    MrAlien987, I noticed you are running 'mod_perl' and meant to ask how you got it installed. Was it manually or through EasyApache -- and if EasyApache, was it through WHM or Shell?
    I don't know. I didn't do it myself. Where can I see this?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,109
    In your WHM > Apache Status

    Apache Server Status for server1.joskeonline.com

    Server Version: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) mod_perl/1.29 mod_gzip/1.3.26.1a


    Something else as well that is probably contributing to the high load, SpamAssassin is known to be heavy on Server resources.
    PotentProducts.com - for all your Hosting needs
    Helping people Host, Create and Maintain their Web Site
    ServerAdmin Services also available

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •