How to copy a database

I am trying to move a database from one server on which I have a shared hosting account to another. As cpanel's db backup/restore does not work (I read this is a known issue) I tried to dump the db using phpmyadmin and then restore it on the other server, again using phpmyadmin.

The restoration kept failing, although I tried different options for creating the sql. No matter what I tried, I always got syntax error messages when I tried to restore the file.

I am not an expert on mysql, but the syntax seems correct, and it seems reasonable to believe that an sql created that way should be correct.

So what could be wrong, and is there a better way I can use to copy databases?

You have several options.

1) Do a dump using phpmyadmin, don't use the gzip format but rather do it in plain format. Once i's done open the result in wordpad or notepad and then open your new host and dump it step by step (I don't know how big is your db) but if it's big dump it in 100's of lines and see where the error comes from and just skip that error and complete the dump by skipping that lin e.

Another alternative (If you have ssh/telnet access) simple do a mysqldump and then a mysql

On the old server do:

mysqldump -uUSER-NAME -pPASSWORD DB-NAME --add-drop-table --complete-insert>backup.sql

Then move the backup.sql file into the new host and do it the other way arround

mysql -uUSER-NAME -pPASSWORD DB-NAMEZ<backup.sql

Either option should work fine.

Other method (I dought you can do this) is to copy the mysql/db-name folder itself and then restore it

Using mysql do something like this

cp /var/lib/mysql/data/YOUR-DB-NAME DESTINATION -R

then copy the destination folder to the new host and it will work, this may not work because you need ssh and permittions to do it and because it's a shared environment it may not work with your account but you can try
    Shopping Cart Builder - Complete ecommerce suite for simple and advanced shopping cart needs