Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    371

    My plan for building a 4 way server for $5K

    Monarchcomputer.com has dual core opteron 865, 870 and 875 in stock now. It seems that AMD is able to produce these things in good quantity. But these chips are too expensive.

    Soon, the Opteron 265, 270,275 dual core chips will be out, the 265 (dual core 1.8GHZ) costs $850, kind of affordable. And, the Tyan s2882G2NR-D is available for $390, pay attention to the D suffix of the tyan board, it means it can do dual core.

    So this will be my server spec

    1) 2 x Opteron 265-- $1500
    2) 8GB of PC2700 DDR-- $1300
    3) 8 x 200 GB SATA drives: $1000
    4) Good 2U server chassis with RPS: $800
    5) Highpoint raid controller card: $200
    6) Tyan board: $400

    total $5200

    then pay $299 for directadmin license

    that's a machine that is capable of handling at least 1500 sites.


    try ask your dedicated host for such a beast and see how much it costs monthly

    I got some zero APR credit card, that's free money, and I will use that to buy these components.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,084
    Where did you put the AMD tatoo by the way?
    André Allen | E: aallen(a)linovus.ca
    Linovus Holdings Inc
    Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS, Dedicated Servers & Public Cloud | USA, Canada & UK - 24x7x365 Support

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    371
    ha ha ha, guess the front is full of drives and the opteron logo has no place.
    Any way, my customers won't see the machine, so I will put the opteron 64 logo on directadmin interface.

    I went to the DC again today, some cabinets are open, so I had a peek,a lot of pathetic DELL crap powered by P3, celeron, etc....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,033

    Re: My plan for building a 4 way server for $5K

    Originally posted by wm2100

    that's a machine that is capable of handling at least 1500 sites.
    How are you sure of this number? Small non-utilized static sites, sure. Dynamic sites, maybe. Heavily-utilized dynamic sites, probably not.

    It is typically more cost effective / flat out effective to have multiple servers than one monster of a server.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,290

    Re: Re: My plan for building a 4 way server for $5K

    Originally posted by Josh Stein
    How are you sure of this number? Small non-utilized static sites, sure. Dynamic sites, maybe. Heavily-utilized dynamic sites, probably not.

    It is typically more cost effective / flat out effective to have multiple servers than one monster of a server.
    its possible but i can see an issue with disk IO brewing
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,889
    Yeah, disk IO will easily be the bottleneck on that system. Use say 6-8 10k RPM Raptors and it should be a good deal better, or better yet, SCSI.
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ steadfast.net - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,290
    Originally posted by wm2100
    ha ha ha, guess the front is full of drives and the opteron logo has no place.
    Any way, my customers won't see the machine, so I will put the opteron 64 logo on directadmin interface.

    I went to the DC again today, some cabinets are open, so I had a peek,a lot of pathetic DELL crap powered by P3, celeron, etc....
    p3 tualatin are some of the most stable chips i have ever used.
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    486
    Just because you build it doesn't mean they will come....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    190
    IMHO, this server would be suitable for a single extremely heavy site, not for a gazillion of smaller ones. For small sites, I'd just keep adding up middle-end servers as soon as they get filled. That's cheaper and easier.

    And yes, if you decide to build it, consider a SCSI RAID instead of SATAs - unless you're planning a file archive with huge diskspace and low i/o.
    First Amendment of a webhost: if you fail to prepare, prepare to fail.

  10. #10

    *

    I don't think his point is for his actual customers. Seems like this is more for personal satisfaction. Seems like you're spending all this money without any real use for it. I would think with your Sempron 3100+ test results you could build about 5 of those and totally crush your proposed system with the same amount of funds.

    What are you going to do with your existing hardware? Is that one fully utilized already? The dual 242 2gb ecc 4x200gb hdd?

    You build a high end system and then decide to use SATA. Why don't you use SCSI hdd's and a SATA NAS? Do you even have the need for 2 TB of storage?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    190
    Originally posted by thelinuxguy
    p3 tualatin are some of the most stable chips i have ever used.
    Not many really understand the value of those chips. There was a very special feeling when handling P-III-based servers - a feeling that this thing will work.
    First Amendment of a webhost: if you fail to prepare, prepare to fail.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,033
    One of my first hardware reviews was that of the Tualatin. Great chip and I just got rid of it recently because it wasn't being used for anything.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Secaucus, NJ
    Posts
    44
    Having so many sites on a single box is not a good idea.
    Instead of spending 5,000 on a single server, spend 5,000 on 5 p4's and put 200 sites on each. When you have problems with the server only 20% of your clients will be down.
    mike @ Interserver.net
    skype: mikelavrik
    Web Hosting - VPS - Dedicated Servers
    Check out our Social Media Offers at our Facebook Page

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    4,163

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    371
    I don't work for AMD. If I worked for AMD sales, I would present Sempron vs Xeon benchmarks all day long.... just put INTEL to shame....
    but there are always people that are not smart enough ...

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    371
    Originally posted by ikeo
    I don't think his point is for his actual customers. Seems like this is more for personal satisfaction. Seems like you're spending all this money without any real use for it. I would think with your Sempron 3100+ test results you could build about 5 of those and totally crush your proposed system with the same amount of funds.

    What are you going to do with your existing hardware? Is that one fully utilized already? The dual 242 2gb ecc 4x200gb hdd?

    You build a high end system and then decide to use SATA. Why don't you use SCSI hdd's and a SATA NAS? Do you even have the need for 2 TB of storage?
    I haven't started my hosting biz yet.. The servers are still running idle... they are for some other biz, I am still developing the software for them. But I am thinking about doing hosting, it sounds like easy money, fire up some server and run some existing software, that is it. I admit that I am wasting money right now, but things take time.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,033
    Originally posted by wm2100
    But I am thinking about doing hosting, it sounds like easy money, fire up some server and run some existing software, that is it.
    It may sound like its easy but it really is not if you plan on sticking it out for the long run.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    984
    Originally posted by wm2100
    I haven't started my hosting biz yet.. The servers are still running idle... they are for some other biz, I am still developing the software for them. But I am thinking about doing hosting, it sounds like easy money, fire up some server and run some existing software, that is it. I admit that I am wasting money right now, but things take time.
    It's not like that hasn't been said before on WHT.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Under The Floor Tiles
    Posts
    566
    You're right, it has been said before... and the speaker of those words is usually the first one to be grilled to death by those who really don't like the phrase "easy money" when it comes to webhosting.

    wm2100, there is no "easy money". There's the measly paycheck that you have to write yourself (and sometimes not, especially at the start of your endeavour), and then there's the hard-earned money that you receive only after a year or more of providing 24/7 support and devotion to your customers. Believe me, your profits won't be a simple measure of "Sales minus Expenses." You should apply for a job with an already-successful webhost, and learn the ropes before you decide to rappel.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    520
    btw, those highpoint cards are really poor you'll have serious IO issues with that system.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    75
    Originally posted by TulipSystems
    btw, those highpoint cards are really poor you'll have serious IO issues with that system.


    If you're going to spend that kind of dough, you might as well go with a nice 3ware card.
    "The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education." - Albert Einstein

  22. #22
    Originally posted by interservermike
    Having so many sites on a single box is not a good idea.
    Instead of spending 5,000 on a single server, spend 5,000 on 5 p4's and put 200 sites on each. When you have problems with the server only 20% of your clients will be down.
    Thats what i think as well best thing said in this post

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Miami FL
    Posts
    288
    Originally posted by wm2100
    Sempron vs Xeon benchmarks all day long....
    I dont understand, I thought there were only 24 hours in a day (must be wrong) as so far you have been posting benchmarks 24-7.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    sydney.au
    Posts
    246
    Originally posted by tronic


    If you're going to spend that kind of dough, you might as well go with a nice 3ware card.
    Absolutely.

    I have two Highpoint cards in servers right now, and they've been nothing but trouble. (I'll be swapping one out this weekend, yay!)

    I have four 3Ware cards in production, and they work flawlessly. Yes, they're expensive, but they are worth it.

    (We're getting a nice quad Opteron here at work soon, but it's for our databases, not for web hosting.)

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sheffield, South Yorks
    Posts
    3,480
    I was just about to post the same thing, all that money then you throw away the performance with a Highpoint, better yet, instead of a 3ware, get an Areca card.
    Karl Austin :: KDA Web Services Ltd.
    UK Business Hosting and Managed Servers - Hosting for Business Users :: 0800 5429 764
    Call us today and ask about our hosting solutions.

  26. #26
    Yeah 3ware cards are stable and reliable, but there are much faster cards out there especially given the price.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •