and the battle rages on...

My battle of the OS's still rages on...
    Out of the following OS's:

Red Hat® Linux 7.3, or 9.0
    Red Hat® Enterprise Linux 2.1, or 3 (AS/ES)
    FreeBSD® 4.9 or 5.3
    SuSE® Linux 9.1
    Fedora Core 1
    Fedora Core 2

Which one would be the best for a Linux newbie? ONLY THOSE OS'S LISTED WILL WORK!!
    Thanks,

How about CentOS 3.4? CentOS is an free, open source rebuild of Red Hat Enterprise Linux. What exactly will you be doing with Linux? This may help people tailor their recommendations.

I will be running Plesk, and my host does not support Plesk with CentOS (Plesk is not actually supported by CentOS). It is very important to me to have my hosts support, since I am new to Plesk and I do not have alot of experience with Linux. I want to keep the fees down, too. I may be starting a small hosting buisness on this server in the future.

Originally posted by crnc
    FreeBSD
    really? Personally, not being an admin, I found it was easier using RH / Fedora / CentOS vs. FreeBSD Probably because I was trained up a little bit on RH, but I have a harder time with BSD.

To the OP, I would recommend perhaps hiring a server admin to help you with any of your choices. The $50 a month would help to patch, monitor and assist you with your support needs on an ongoing basis (not much support, but probably enough) and you can save yourself some hardships ahead.

Thanks,

I personally would go with RHEL if you didn't mind paying the extra money for the license (version 3) as it is simple to use, stable, and very well supported.

RH 7.3 and 9.0 have both reached EOL (End Of Life) and are no longer updated, don't go with those.

FreeBSD would be my second choice (5.3 is great). FreeBSD is definatley not that hard to learn and is a great OS.

I don't know that much about SuSE so I can't speak about it =/