What do I need to know?

I've read a lot of webhostingtalk (especially the reseller forum), and I've noted many people lamenting the kiddie hosters who buy a reseller package and whmautopilot, and call it a day.

To be perfectly truthful that's about where I am right now. I am a web developer, and I can say that I'm competent in both graphic design, and web programming. I have a good overall knowledge of computer systems, and an understanding of how various software, hardware, and protocols come together to make our wonderful intarweb... but if you asked me to buy a box, configure it with the software it needed to run smoothly and securly as a web server, and then get it connected, I couldn't do it.

What I do isn't a serious business as such. On one hand, I host my personal sites and design clients, and on the other I run a sort of bargain community host for a demographic that doesn't have a whole lot of cash -- the hosting I do isn't to make loads of cash or to be the best. That having been said, I want to provide a service that has acceptable standards of quality.

So here's my question: as a reseller, what knowledge should I have that brings me out of the "kiddie host" category?

Hmmm knowledge-Well for a reseller you dont need much, "Kiddie Hosts" is more refererred to people who take your money and then dont provide support and things of that nature, Unless you get your own box your knowledge wont need to be as broad, You can work up to it by reading some of the tutorials at WHT and Searching google.

Re: What do I need to know?

Originally posted by PMichaud
    What I do isn't a serious business as such. On one hand, I host my personal sites and design clients, and on the other I run a sort of bargain community host for a demographic that doesn't have a whole lot of cash -- the hosting I do isn't to make loads of cash or to be the best. That having been said, I want to provide a service that has acceptable standards of quality.