Local Hosting - How To Approach Businesses?

I'm looking to target the local market soon with my offerings and had a few questions.

My current idea is to go in, ask for owner/manager. Once they come out, how can I get their attention without having them feel like I'm soliciting?

How should I dress?
    Should I carry a folder with information? Maybe a laptop/tablet pc with examples?

I would assume that some type of literature to give to them talking about the service, options, etc. is needed.

I just don't want to walk in and give the feeling that I'm a door to door salesman soliciting. I truly feel I have something to offer that they can benefit from, not just something to bring me money.

Thanks
    Ankit Gupta - Cernax Hosting
    "We're always second in the industry, the customer comes first."

Well you want the person in charge/owner to feel like you are professional, and that the business is professional. So dress like a professional business person. Which is different depending where you live.

As well have a folder that you are willing to give to them (information just for them). Make them want to get hosting, because you have information that will make them think "this will help my business".

Tell them why it makes sense for them to get a hosting and why they should do it through you.

Send them a letter explaining to them why they need a website, and put a phone number on there so if they are interested they can contact you.
    This is a good approach for most businesses, but you may loose some misinformed businesses.
    Hostime Managed Hosting
    Opening the bridge between your business and the world.
    http://www.hostime.com

Or maybe call them in advance and book a meeting at their office. Could probably sound a little too telemarketingish though.

Maybe a letter and then follow up 4-5 days later with a phone call?